We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
188
129
42
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
129
42
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business school north grounds law school barracks road room was clean conference center parking garage john paul jones arena queen bed basketball game breakfast included central location visiting charlottesville front desk staff pleasant stay easy access short drive
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 383 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the second summer I stayed in the East Hall at the Darden Inn while attending the Darden/Curry PLE program. The rooms are clean, updated, quiet, and comfortable. Rooms feature free wi-fi and a fridge/microwave. Lots of hot water for showers. The bottom floor of the Inn contains a laundry area, fitness center, and meeting rooms. Continental breakfast is provided in the mornings for those who need it. The Inn is close to Saunders Hall where the business school classes are held. The UVa grounds are beautiful and green. Many areas (maps provided by the Inn) for walking/running. A very nice shopping area including several places for quick meals is a short 15-minute walk down the hill. The staff is helpful and friendly. A perfect place to stay for those involved in classes at Darden, but I would love to come back sometime just to spend time visiting beautiful Charlottesville.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for your second class with PLE. We are open to the public and would love to have your next visit with us be for pleasure.
We also provide complimentary snacks in our Gatehouse in the afternoons for all of our guests.
We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms are clean and modern. Quiet location on campus. Hotel seems to be counter-cyclical to other hotels in Charlottesville; unless there is a school event, they often have rooms when other hotels are full. Good value. May have to park in a lot across the road from the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable rooms for all of our guest, we are happy that we have met expectation with you. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When our usual hotel was booked for the night, we asked them for another recommendation and they sent us to the Inn at Darden. We were skeptical when we saw the price (only $120/night) but it was a great find! The room was clean and spacious. The location was quiet as we stayed here during the summer when classes at UVA were out. The location was great - less than 10 minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville! We will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney7325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the recommendation and staying with us! We love referrals! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - please call us the next time you will be staying in Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary in Charlottesville over Memorial Day weekend. Since I booked the hotel late, all of our usual hotels were taken. So we decided to give the Inn at Darden a try - a reasonable price, good location and beautiful Jefferson architecture. The front desk was very helpful with things to do around town and super efficient at check in and the next morning for continental breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Inn at Darden as your hotel while you celebrated your anniversary - Happy Belated Anniversary to you and your husband! I will certainly let our front desk staff know that you appreciated their help and knowledge of the Charlottesville area. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I booked a room the Inn at Darden over Memorial Day weekend after we found nearly everything else was sold out weeks ahead of time. We knew the campus at Thomas Jefferson-designed UVA was gorgeous and I had stayed in a business school's conference center before (at University of Maryland during a conference several years before) so I knew the room was likely to be nice.

Especially for the price, it far and away exceeded our expectations. Every single member of the staff was friendly and helpful, the inn provided a delicious and filling breakfast each morning (a surprise, since we didn't know that was included) with plenty of gluten-free items for me, the bed was super comfortable, and the room quiet and clean. The bath was comfortable as well. We liked having a microwave, mini-fridge, coffee/tea maker, and free wi-fi access for my husband's iPad. Parking was free and super convenient - on the leafy, quiet boulevard immediately next to the hotel or in a clean, new parking garage just across the street.

The single drawback I can think of was it seemed like our wing/section of the building may have suffered water damage (?) in the past - there was a faint smell I couldn't quite put my finger on; we smelled it every time we entered our wing of the building, and it was in our room as well. It didn't smell like cigarette smoke or anything like that. Our room had a dehumidifier so that's what made me think it was something to do with water. After a few minutes in our room we wouldn't notice it as much. The other parts of the building didn't smell like this, either. We were in room 326. But this was literally the only negative of our stay and it was minor.

Room tip: Maybe ask for a room up near the parking garage/inn building entrance to avoid the water damage/smell issue? Our room was farther down, toward the separate gatehouse where you check in.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trjonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Our staff strives to make each and every guest comfortable and welcome during their stay with us. We do offer a limited continental breakfast in our Gatehouse for all of our guests each morning and have added gluten free items based on prior guests feedback.
Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on provided all of our guests with a clean room as well.
We will certainly have our maintenance staff investigate the room you stayed in as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charlottesville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews