We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre and Inconvenient”
Review of UVA Inn at Darden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
UVA Inn at Darden
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Based on reviews we booked for here for our one night in Charlottesville. When we arrived at 11:30 pm after a long drive, we could not find the sign for "The Inn at Darden." There is none. After driving in circles on the Darden Business School Campus we finally spotted a small sign for "The Gatehouse" where you check in. Wish this had been mentioned when we made the reservation. We were in no mood for a frustrating search late at night.

The inconvenience got worse when we got our room key and convoluted verbal instructions as to where to park (no where close to our room) and how to get to our room (prepare for the labyrinth). Go in that building, go down one hall, take an elevator, get off the elevator, go down another hall, go through a set of doors, take a left down another hall etc. etc. We felt like we were on a treasure hunt as we walked by endless (apparently empty) rooms and down countless corridors.

The room? On par with an average Holiday In - mediocre furnishings and thin walls. Hey, but you get free snacks at "The Gatehouse." Why bother staying here? There are better options in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmavensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding signage. Being a University of Virginia property, we are required to follow the signage guidelines of the University. We are in the process of obtaining new signage for our property that will better direct incoming guests.
We have addressed your parking/directions comments with our staff and are further training our staff to be aware of our guest needs.
We would hope that you would give us another opportunity to host you on your next visit to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the second summer I stayed in the East Hall at the Darden Inn while attending the Darden/Curry PLE program. The rooms are clean, updated, quiet, and comfortable. Rooms feature free wi-fi and a fridge/microwave. Lots of hot water for showers. The bottom floor of the Inn contains a laundry area, fitness center, and meeting rooms. Continental breakfast is provided in the mornings for those who need it. The Inn is close to Saunders Hall where the business school classes are held. The UVa grounds are beautiful and green. Many areas (maps provided by the Inn) for walking/running. A very nice shopping area including several places for quick meals is a short 15-minute walk down the hill. The staff is helpful and friendly. A perfect place to stay for those involved in classes at Darden, but I would love to come back sometime just to spend time visiting beautiful Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for your second class with PLE. We are open to the public and would love to have your next visit with us be for pleasure.
We also provide complimentary snacks in our Gatehouse in the afternoons for all of our guests.
We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms are clean and modern. Quiet location on campus. Hotel seems to be counter-cyclical to other hotels in Charlottesville; unless there is a school event, they often have rooms when other hotels are full. Good value. May have to park in a lot across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip atkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable rooms for all of our guest, we are happy that we have met expectation with you. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When our usual hotel was booked for the night, we asked them for another recommendation and they sent us to the Inn at Darden. We were skeptical when we saw the price (only $120/night) but it was a great find! The room was clean and spacious. The location was quiet as we stayed here during the summer when classes at UVA were out. The location was great - less than 10 minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney7325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the recommendation and staying with us! We love referrals! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - please call us the next time you will be staying in Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary in Charlottesville over Memorial Day weekend. Since I booked the hotel late, all of our usual hotels were taken. So we decided to give the Inn at Darden a try - a reasonable price, good location and beautiful Jefferson architecture. The front desk was very helpful with things to do around town and super efficient at check in and the next morning for continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Inn at Darden as your hotel while you celebrated your anniversary - Happy Belated Anniversary to you and your husband! I will certainly let our front desk staff know that you appreciated their help and knowledge of the Charlottesville area. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I booked a room the Inn at Darden over Memorial Day weekend after we found nearly everything else was sold out weeks ahead of time. We knew the campus at Thomas Jefferson-designed UVA was gorgeous and I had stayed in a business school's conference center before (at University of Maryland during a conference several years before) so I knew the room was likely to be nice.

Especially for the price, it far and away exceeded our expectations. Every single member of the staff was friendly and helpful, the inn provided a delicious and filling breakfast each morning (a surprise, since we didn't know that was included) with plenty of gluten-free items for me, the bed was super comfortable, and the room quiet and clean. The bath was comfortable as well. We liked having a microwave, mini-fridge, coffee/tea maker, and free wi-fi access for my husband's iPad. Parking was free and super convenient - on the leafy, quiet boulevard immediately next to the hotel or in a clean, new parking garage just across the street.

The single drawback I can think of was it seemed like our wing/section of the building may have suffered water damage (?) in the past - there was a faint smell I couldn't quite put my finger on; we smelled it every time we entered our wing of the building, and it was in our room as well. It didn't smell like cigarette smoke or anything like that. Our room had a dehumidifier so that's what made me think it was something to do with water. After a few minutes in our room we wouldn't notice it as much. The other parts of the building didn't smell like this, either. We were in room 326. But this was literally the only negative of our stay and it was minor.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room up near the parking garage/inn building entrance to avoid the water damage/smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trjonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Our staff strives to make each and every guest comfortable and welcome during their stay with us. We do offer a limited continental breakfast in our Gatehouse for all of our guests each morning and have added gluten free items based on prior guests feedback.
Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on provided all of our guests with a clean room as well.
We will certainly have our maintenance staff investigate the room you stayed in as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charlottesville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, beautiful surroundings and very friendly staff. Excellent value. If you need to be in the area for any reason even not affiliated with the university consider staying here. It is really not at all like staying in a hotel but with all the conveniences and more that you expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanslerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives to make our guests feel this is there "home away from home" for each and every guest. We are open to the public and would love to see you again during your next trip to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,062 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UVA Inn at Darden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UVA Inn at Darden

Address: 100 Darden Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — UVA Inn at Darden 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Virginia Inn at Darden in Charlottesville, Virginia offering historic and gracious on-Grounds hotel accommodations. The Inn is an ideal property for individuals, groups and conferences, close to shopping, downtown Charlottesville and many local attractions. Relax and enjoy our dignified traditional hotel offering an excellent location, outstanding service and convenient amenities. Guests at the Inn may choose from 177 charming accommodations featuring a traditional Jeffersonian décor and numerous amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and complimentary lighted guest parking seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your UVA Inn at Darden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing