We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
Review of UVA Inn at Darden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
UVA Inn at Darden
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found ourselves looking last minute for accommodations in Charlottesville, VA. After checking out several well known chain hotels I ran across a review of the Inn at Darden where the property was highly rated and about 30% more cost effective than similar properties. The Inn is located on UVA property, very convenient and attractive. We enjoyed a great Easter weekend exploring UVA and Monticello returning to a comfortable room and excellent bed. The simple cold breakfast was adequate and convenient. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being located on the Campus of The Darden Graduate School of Business does make us very convenient to visits to the Unversity of Virginia, as well as other historical sites in Charlottesville. We have just replaced our mattresses and are glad you found them comfortable! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    99
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
83
75
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I can't give a full evaluation of the Inn because we only stayed five minutes. The building is lovely, staff very nice and the room was pleasant looking. The problem? The heavy chemical smell in the halls and our room was intolerable. There was a dehumidifier going full blast in our room (I've never seen that in a hotel room before), so I wondered if there was a problem with mold remediation. We really, really wanted to stay there; the location was perfect and the price extremely reasonable, and finding a new place on an hour's notice was very challenging.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nowthisdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are incredibly sorry for your experience at The Inn at Darden. Our General Manager would like to talk with you regarding your review. Please call 434-243-5000 and ask for Gene Meoni. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had family come to town for my daughters college graduation and were in need of several rooms. I researched the hotels in the area in an attempt to find a hotel that was clean, convenient and nice, while still being a good bargain. The Inn at Darden turned out to be all of these things. My guests were thrilled with the accommodations. They found the accommodations to be clean, convenient, and charming. It is not your typical hotel, located on the campus of The University of Virginia, it is attached to the Darden School of Business. I knew that it was there but had always thought it was for use by the business school for visiting speakers, professors and guests of the university. I was not quite sure what to make of it when it popped up on the list at Expedia.com. We will definitely be sending all of our guests there in the future. In addition to the other positives, they serve a continental breakfast ans the price was very good, quite a bot less then any other hotel in town.

Room Tip: When arriving pay close attention to the signs, all of our guests drove past it the first time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccermotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are thrilled that the guests for your daughter's college graduation found our hotel to be comfortable, clean and charming. We strive to provide excellent customer service! Although we are located on the grounds of the Darden School of Business, we are open to the public. We appreciate you sending your future guests to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We planned a last minute visit to Charlottesville to see Dave Matthews and visit UVA we initially had a hard time finding a place to stay overnight as everything was booked. I called the Inn at Darden and they had space! From my first conversation with Jane to our check-out...everything was great! The customer service was first rate and we couldn't have picked a better spot to stay for the weekend! It was lovely staying "on campus" and felt like a more bed and breakfast than a hotel! We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYtoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are so glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. I will certainly let Jane and the rest of our front staff know about your comments. We strive to have a home atmosphere here and your review affirms that. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had trouble finding a place to stay in Charlottesville--we just happened to be visiting over Family Weekend at UVa. The Inn at Darden apparently had some cancellations, which was lucky for us.
It is the Conference Center for the UVa business school, and we were delighted with our stay. The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful--really a plus. The fitness room was nice, the breakfast and snacks good, the room very large and nicely appointed. There are free tote bags and umbrellas in each room.
The only disadvantage is the parking, which was only a minor inconvenience--on Saturday night, we parked on the street right outside an entrance; on Sunday night, we had to park in the garage, which was about a block away.

Room Tip: Decide between asking to be near the garage or near the gate house (close to the fitness center), wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all our guests and are pleased that you experienced that with our front desk staff. We are glad that you liked our fitness center and the size of our rooms. Please come see us again on your next visit to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Inn is located at the business school, a lovely area of brick buildings and tree lined streets just a few minutes from the main campus. The rooms have 1 queen bed, and were comfortably appointed, with pristine bath fixtures and good quality linens. They serve a continental breakfast which was ample for us- bagels/pastries, yogurt, fruit and oatmeal. Even send you off with a free umbrella! Very good value in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buntermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, General Manager at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the umbrella! We hope you will come again when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach,VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed at this Inn in September and we were quite pleased with the accommodations. Although it is not an elaborate place, it is clean, quiet, and offers affordable rates. We will definitely stay there again when we have something to attend in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbn8tive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, General Manager at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the honorable title of your review and your feedback. I hope you will stay again soon! Feel free to contact me directly for any of your reservations needs.

Jessica O'Gorek
Director of Lodging
ogorekj@darden.virginia.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UVA Inn at Darden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UVA Inn at Darden

Property: UVA Inn at Darden
Address: 100 Darden Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — UVA Inn at Darden 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Virginia Inn at Darden in Charlottesville, Virginia offering historic and gracious on-Grounds hotel accommodations. The Inn is an ideal property for individuals, groups and conferences, close to shopping, downtown Charlottesville and many local attractions. Relax and enjoy our dignified traditional hotel offering an excellent location, outstanding service and convenient amenities. Guests at the Inn may choose from 177 charming accommodations featuring a traditional Jeffersonian décor and numerous amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and complimentary lighted guest parking seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your UVA Inn at Darden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing