We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, fresh sandwiches made by the friendliest folks”

Baggby's Gourmet Sandwiches
Ranked #166 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh sandwiches made by the friendliest folks”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I love this sandwich place. The owners and staff are super friendly, delightful folk who offer a wide variety of delicious sandwiches made with fresh ingredients.

If you like no-nonsense, one ingredient sandwiches, these are all on the menu with comforting homemade taste. I now always get the egg salad, plain, because it is simply the best. If you want to try something a bit more creative and colorful, another menu offers southwest and other regionally-inspired, larger sandwiches that are also outrageously yummy. So many choices, you could dine here for lunch for weeks and not repeat a meal!

Sandwiches come in a brown paper lunch bag with your name on it. :) A tiny, tasty chocolate chip cookie nestles in with your napkins.

Brewed ice tea and lemonade are on tap. The standard bags of chips are available, plus fountain fizzies.

The amount of seating is pretty good for this location on the Mall, possibly because many folk get their lunches to go. We've always found a table. Summer opens the outdoors up for additional seating and people watching. I prefer to be inside and chat with the owners who are great folk. They make you feel at home, which is a rare atmosphere in this town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PotatoFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a charlottesville institution”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

while working on my restaurant i had my lunches at Baggby's and still dom it sometimes on Saturdays because i am not opened for lunch.. My experience WAS and IS similar to the patrons 'listed before. I know food and i am in the food business and Baggby's is a very good Charlottesville institution run by a very competent and courteous family

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bashir2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I took the kids for a quick bite to eat one day after the museum and it was fantastic. Yummy sandwiches and the kids all LOVED their ice cream! Yay!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CasDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
426 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and they deliver as well”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Delicious standard sandwiches (turkey club with avocado is a must, comes with plenty of bacon and who does not need plenty of bacon?). Perfect lunch spot when you are in a hurry on the downtown mall or when you need a delivery fix.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Friendly, Tasty Lunch Option”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

All of the sandwich items are quite good. This is a family-owned restaurant that has offered "brown bag" sandwiches and cookies for decades -- quickly served, clean and pleasant eating area, and there is a good chance they'll remember your name (and order) if you make a connection with John...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baggby's Gourmet Sandwiches also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Baggby's Gourmet Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing