We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what I want in a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast

Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exactly what I want in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is exactly what I want in a B&B: Very comfortable (but not frou-frou), warm and welcoming hosts, dead quiet at night, yet well-situated (short walk to the train station, free trolley, restaurants, etc.). Delicious and ample breakfast. Mid-priced between cheap hotels and larger chain hotels. I'll be staying here every time I come to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Schnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I loved the Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast! The owners are extremely welcoming and were eager to provide any information I needed. I arrived with some friends from a winery tour and my friends were welcomed in. We sat on the back deck enjoying wine in glasses provided by the Inn, sitting in comfy chairs. The rooms were very comfortable and my breakfast was delicious. It even included a fresh Bodo's Bagel - amazing! I will absolutely be returning next year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Seamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family totally enjoyed the comforts of home during a busy UVA graduation weekend. We had a friends/family gathering on Sat. with plenty of space for socializing, parking and eating. The place had plenty of parking (2 permits for the road) and several places behind the house. The bedrooms were very comfortable and well appointed. We rented the whole house without the B and B service and were given fruit, juice, waters, coffee and tea. Many of our friends took the business cards to consider renting it at their children's graduations in the future. The home is located within walking distance to the Grounds, the Corner and Downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here on our week-long honeymoon road trip in Central Virginia. Antoinette and Wallace, our hosts, were very friendly and hospitable. We had the house to ourselves, so it was quiet and private. We stayed in the McDowell master suite, which was large and roomy with a king bed and private bath.

The breakfast consisted of fruit, yogurt, eggs, pumpkin muffins and choice of meat. It was great, especially the pumpkin muffins, which came from a local bakery.

This is a newly renovated home in downtown Charlottesville. The price was higher than some of the other places we stayed, but it was very nice, and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicalw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was the only place that was available for graduation weekend so we snapped it up, not caring much about it. We had the upstairs room with two twin beds (who has those in a B&B?). There is a shared bathroom (who has that in a B&B?). The place was recently remodeled and clean enough, though not particularly well-done. The location was convenient enough - we walked to the university and a nice little Irish pub. Several people told us not to walk around there at night, but I think that was a little over-cautious. I lived in Baltimore once and it wasn't nearly as bad as that. In fact, the neighbors we walked by were friendly and said hello when we did.

I didn't like sharing the bathroom though in the end there were no issues despite the place being full. Our room was a little warm and there was no way to adjust the temperature.

Breakfast was good, if rather simple - scrambled eggs and sausage, great muffins, store-bought croissants, and fruit The owner actually was the cook. The woman who showed us around was very friendly (and very pregnant) and made us feel that she would handle anything that might come up.

I would not stay here again, but it was a reasonably good place in a pinch. I do appreciate the fact that we were able to even get a room, and we did have a reasonably good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Pass up the two twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Was a little hesitant about this place just because of the lack of reviews; looks like it's only been open since may. The owners were extremely accommodating (my wife was very pregnant, and we weren't sure if we'd have to cancel last minute) and pleasant. The house was newly renovated, clean, and comfortable. The location was very convenient to the Corner and the University. Only downside is that it's in a bit of a transitional neighborhood; we didn't feel unsafe, but some might. All in all, a great value if you want to be within walking distance of the University--it's also very near to the free trolley downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nola_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 339 10th St NW, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2317
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast. Join us for cozy and friendly accommodations while visiting historical Chalottesville, Virginia! We offer each guest “A Home Away From Home” experience through individual room rental or vacation home rental. The Tenth Street Bed and Breakfast is centrally located to many area attractions and events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing