We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood restaurant”

Fry's Spring Station
Reserve with OpenTable
Fry's Spring Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 568 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $7 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OUR MISSION IS SIMPLE: SERVE HIGH-QUALITY, HONEST AND APPROACHABLE FOOD AND DRINK TO OUR NEIGHBORS, FRIENDS, FAMILY Serve high-quality, honest, approachable food and drink to our neighbors, friends, family and visitors from near and far, in a warm, fun, friendly environment. Fry's Spring Station is housed in an historic c.1931 filling station that was the nucleus of the community for over 70 years.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am not sure what I like more about Fry's Spring Station, the space or the food. Both are great! Fry's has a fabulous bar area, main dining room area with booths and tables as well as two outdoor seating areas. If it is warm enough, my favorite place to sit is on the side patio which has access to the bar.

With regards to the food, I love the hot pepperoni pizza; I usually add a few veggies like mushrooms and peppers. I also love the Greek salad and their balsamic dressing is really tasty! They also do take out which is perfect for Friday nights at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzala99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for writing such a nice review - we appreciate it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The pizza is outstanding!!!!! The sandwiches and salads are wonderful!!! Gluten free options that are delicious! We have eaten here many times and it is always fantastic! The outdoor patio is great when weather permits!! Love this place!!!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you Sheri!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have been there many times. Staff is always friendly. Menu is straightforward but not too simple having quality ingredients and enough gourmet flavors to please anyone...pizza, pasta, salads, apps, sandwiches. Everything I've had has been outstanding (the carnivore and buffalo chicken pizzas and crab dip are my favorite). just the right mix of modern decor with the charm of the historic station. It's particularly fun when they open up the doors for an indoor/outdoor experience. Good location, close to stadium...i'll go back every time i'm in cville.

Thank NotoriousT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

On a recent busy evening the cook clearly deomonstrated why he should stay in the kitchen and not "help" on the front end. He was arrogant and made several comments under his breath about customers. We were eventually seated and rewarded with a great waitperson, Heather, she rocks, and we enjoyed several good wines, red pepper hummus, and pizza's; wild mushroom was especially good. The parking situation is tough, don't park in the closed gas station parking lot, they tow....the Station is well done, smartly converting a vintage service station into hip pizza joint wtih a very good beer and wine selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jedidiah1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for writing this nice review! Yes, there is a reason why cooks stay in the kitchen (we apologize).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fry's Spring may have the best pizza in town! It's totally flavorful, cheesy goodness loaded with quality toppings--and at a great price! It's fun to watch the bakers shove it in and out of the brick oven. My husband gets the Carnivore and I top mine with spinach, bacon, pepperoni (huge, crispy slices!) and goat cheese. The house salad is also a lovely accompaniment. We've had the greek platter (flatbread, hummus and lots of other goodies) as an appetizer and it was fantastic.

This place has cool local vibes--it used to be a gas station and has garage doors still intact, although it definitely feels classy inside. It's especially beautiful in the spring/summer to eat outside. If you're looking for a nice place with awesome food but without a hefty price tag that often comes with Cville dining, this is your place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Courtney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fry's Spring Station also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Fry's Spring Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing