We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN FIND IN CHARLOTTESVILLE”
Review of Brookville Restaurant - CLOSED

Brookville Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St NW
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
538 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“FUN FIND IN CHARLOTTESVILLE”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

WE came to see the Virginia Gentlemen at UVA and did the historic downtown looking for an unusual place to eat and WE FOUND IT!!.. TRY the popcorn cooked in bacon fat; YUM
(don't do it too often) ALSO they have fried bologna, great hash and home made fingerling
potato chips; the view from upstairs looking down to streetlights at Christmas time was
wonderful.. oh don't miss the chocolate chip/bacon cookies; seriously amazing oh and
so was the maple /apple waffles with a teeny bit of yummy icecream, really they could
give you MORE ice cream!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Cuisine”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Long story short...atmosphere and service were ok....food was excellent and all locally sourced.

Food report:
Bacon Popcorn: Just the right amount of bacon drippings....not swimming in grease, but very tasty
Braised Lima Beans: not bad, but comparatively bland
Roasted fingerling potato hash: Maybe the best dish of the night.....with bacon and gruyere cheese - topped with a soft fried egg
Butternut Squash Soup: perfect consistency, complimented with cilantro cream....tasted like fall
Braised rabbit: tender and flavorful, served over cheesy polenta with rabbit jus
Bacon waffle with apples and ice cream: One of the best desserts I've had in a long time...sweet and savory bacon studded waffle paired with creamy vanilla ice cream and stewed local apples

With only one night in Charlottesville, we wanted to try and get the waffle and the hash for brunch the next day, but they didn't have it on the brunch menu (you should fix that Brookville). Overall a great meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjballey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary and delicious”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Only local products and produce are used. Bacon and pork belly are prominent on the menu. Bacon waffles and vegetable stacks are wonderful. The menu changes depending on what is available. I heard good things about the menu and when I got there, it was different. I picked what sounded good and was not disappointed. I enjoyed the change of pace, the unique menu and decent prices. Nice local wines as well. Definitely worth a try and different from the usual.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Everything is somewhat local and fresh and the menu is interesting. Some of the items I never would have tried but so glad I did. They also have good deals - the night we were there was half off VA wines! The salad we got was simple but so good. Our entrees were delicious...one tried the chicken, another the pork belly, and another the lamb pasta dish. Amazing...and the dessert was out of this world. We got three to split - the bacon chocolate chip cookie (YUM), the waffle with peaches (YUM YUM), and the Apple Cider donuts which I think was my favorite but they were all good. Definitley worth checking this place out if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“4.5 stars: very tasty, if unhealthy”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This restaurant has many suggestions of upper middlecrust elegance - the very short menu, the pricing, the atmosphere. But what they really sell is comfort food, with just about everything infused with bacon, including the chocolate chip cookies available for dessert. You might call it a Bacchonalia. I had the giant 12 oz hamburger (with 2 oz of gouda! and bacon, of course) and it was delicious. I normally insist on burgers being done at least medium, with little pink, but I threw caution to the wind here and enjoyed it as intended by the chef. Wow was it good. I tried my wife's dish of chicken leg on bacon waffle, etc., and it was quite scrumptuous too.

Good selection of local beers.

The only snafu was that our waiter had trouble splitting the bills. That and the very limited eating menu knock it down a half star.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cspan37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookville Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing