We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Poor menu selection” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brookville Restaurant

Brookville Restaurant
Ranked #182 of 515 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St NW
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor menu selection”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Brookville and probably our last. Great that they want to have local foods, but bacon in most of their menu items, including 3 of their 4 desserts? We do not eat beef or pork and if we had been vegetarians we would have had to leave (they even ran out of their starter salad). We were very disappointed with menu choices and service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainorshine_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A foodie spot in Charlottesveille”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Brookville has a very interesting menu, with a lot of locally sourced choices done in unexpected ways (with a decidedly Southern twist). I'm a vegetarian, and I didn't find a lot of meat-free choices ... but what I did have was really good. The service was excellent

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1060WestAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This restaurant is a gem. The food is magnificent. Chef Harrison has a way of creatively combining foods together for surprising and winning combinations. I had flank steak that was perched on top of mashed potatoes that melted in my mouth. My husband had a chicken thigh on a waffle...who would guess? The sauces on both dishes were absolutely divine - not overpowering but the perfect blend of flavors. Desserts were superb. The servers was delightful and the atmosphere ideal for a romantic dinner. This restaurant is conveniently located on the downtown walking mall just outside of the Omni. Wonderful experience. I will go back because they change up the menu on a regular basis. Bravo!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Locally-sourced dishes with flair!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was our third meal at Brookville and, after being open over a year, it is still one of the best restaurants in Charlottesville.

We like to support the local economy, so we try to eat at restaurants that source their menu items locally as much as possible. Brookville gets about 90% of what they serve within a 100 mile radius - wow! This means the menu changes quite a bit from day to day depending upon what is available, but it also means that you are getting the freshest food out there.

We started with beet ravioli, shaved beets with goat cheese mousse tucked in between - so good. Some menu items are constant, like the Brookville burger, a huge 11 ouncer with gouda and a fried egg on top. The thing is massive, but it is so good, even the little one will stuff his belly to bursting so as not to miss a bite. We also had a brisket dish - think boring, right? Not this one! The men folk raved over it. And then the iconic bacon chocolate chip cookie for desert. They also have a great wine list, though it is pricey for sure.

Go to Brookville for local food, exquisitely and creatively prepared, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneCvilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfort food with a twist; DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE; IT IS FABULOUS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We found this charming restaurant on the web while traveling in the area. Jennifer and Harrison rolled out the red carpet and made us feel right at home. Our food was over the top fabulous, for simple food, served just perfectly. We loved it so much that we planned out trip back to airport so that we could dine here again within the same week. So wish that they were in our Boston area! Do yourself a favor, and make sure to eat here. You will not be disappointed. They love food and people and it shows is every aspect of the menu and the hospitality. We feel like we have known them for years!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookville Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Brookville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing