We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”

Monticello Appellation Wine Tours
Ranked #7 of 25 Tours in Charlottesville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of touring some great VA wineries with an even better tour guide, Chris. Do not think that a wine tour with Arcady means you just get driven from winery to winery. Chris did a wonderful job of describing so much about the region we were visiting, as well as giving his well informed opinion about VA wines. He is just as enthusiastic about wines as he is knowledgeable.

We were picked up perfectly on time, even a few minutes early, on the day of the tour from our hotel. We were provided with an informational packet about the wineries we would be visiting. The cheese/cracker/fruit plate was delicious and presented so nicely on the patio of one of the wineries. At each winery Chris had something up his sleeve, giving the tour an extremely personal feeling. You will not find this personal one on one service from a bus or limo tour. If you are looking for a wine tour in Charlottesville, then Arcady is your answer. You will be so happy with your choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Erica was nice and very knowledgeable about the wineries, their owners, and their wines. She had prepared a booklet for us before the tour, listing all the wines we were going to taste, so we could simply mark the wine we liked. The Virginia cheese she served during break was excellent (who knew Virginia made good cheese!!). Our family enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend to friends and families.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelloverNJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk Park, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT time”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am so happy that I was able to book a tour with Arcady Private Wine Tours. The vineyards out in Charlottesville are not right next to each other and it was really great to have a knowledgable and friendly tour guide to navigate through the roads. It was relaxing and very much enjoyable. My husband and I had an amazing time, and it was very affordable. Such a better option then renting a limo service. You really won't have a better time any other way

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good wines in Va”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spectacular fall weekend in Charlottesville highlighted by spending time with Chirs at some of the best wineries on the East Coast. Highly recommend the tour to maximize your time. Glad we scheduled on Friday as Saturday was insane with fall foliage crowds. We especially liked the fact the Chris was flexible enough to cater the tour to our tastes. King winery and Blue Mountain brewery were our favorites. Only wish we would have reserved a room at their B&B before they booked up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exciting first wine tour!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My boyfriend and decided to do the wine tour for my 30th birthday. I am so happy with our choice. The other couple ended up not making the tour so Erika ended up giving us a private wine tour...how special! She showed up right on time and gave us plenty of information to prepare us for our day. We got to try a few wines not listed on the tasting lists and did not have to wait to do the tastings. The cheese platter was amazing and a perfect complement for a day of tasting. After the tour and her numerous suggestions for dinner and activities, she let us drop our belongings off at the hotel before driving us to dinner in the downtown mall area! Overall, this made for such a great day. My only change would have been to have stayed in their beautiful bed and breakfast rather than a nearby hotel. Well, guess there's always next year! Thanks Erika for everything!

Jill & Steve

Helpful?
Thank Jillybn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monticello Appellation Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Monticello Appellation Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing