We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem with real cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Montiel & Coffee House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brasserie Montiel & Coffee House
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with real cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Inspired cooking by Alex Montiel who has cooked with the best in the country. Good wine list and an amazing array of choices! The meals are not only lovely to look at but the flavors are fresh and creative. Given the high prices in Charlottesville for fine dining, this place is a bargain. They're sensitive to vegetarian diets too so patrons aren't limited to just one or two things with a bunch of cheese and salad vegetables. I hope the new Stonefield Center yields more clients, since it's not the kind of place you just walk by and it really is an extraordinary place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SadBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant yet comfortable setting to hold a dinner meeting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Alex opened the Brasserie on a night they are normally closed, in order for our company to hold a seminar. The food and service were excellent, and the flexibility shown by the staff to efficiently and quietly serve through presentations was remarkable. Highly recommend for personal meal or small seminars like this one. Attendees wrote thank-yous to us commenting not only on the topics we discussed, but the wonderful food!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJRocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Brasserie Montiel is a wonderful place for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. His soups and appetizers (cheese lollipops!) are great. His roasted chicken with mashed potatoes is my favorite (and I wish I knew what he does with the broccoli to make it so yummy). My husband always struggles with which dessert to choose. He usually picks the ganache.

Downstairs, there is another entire restaurant providing Alex's traditional Mexican cuisine, so you can always select between menus.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This place should be better than it is. Good location, nice servers, but the food is pretty mediocre. I've only tried it for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Macroscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Charlottesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Friends took us to this restaurant for dinner that is hidden away in an obscure shopping center. Don't be put off by the exterior, which looks like a coffee shop. My wife and I eat out locally all the time, and Brasserie Montiel has continental-style food that is as fresh, well prepared and creative as much better known competitors in a town known for its fine dining. Even the bread was outstanding. Only the limited wine list disappoints though there were a few good choices. The food and wine are also priced 20% or more below better-known restaurants providing lesser quality. And the service is excellent. They should work on the decor a bit, but that's a minor quibble. We'll definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Montiel & Coffee House also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing