We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, Wonderful Amenities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were invited to a wedding on the 4th of July. You can imagine our frustration on trying to find affordable accommodations for our extended family totalling 8 adults. Susan Lanterman and her husband literally moved out of the B&B and turned over the entire house to us. Susan provided a wonderfrul homemade breakfast every morning.
The freshly baked banana bread and blueberry crumb cake were wonderful.

The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms clean and modern, and the parlor area and dining room are well appointed and comfortable. The B&B is ideally located in proximity to the mall made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmarion222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 118 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were attending a Concert and wanted to stay someplace other than a regular motel/hotel for a relaxing overnight getaway. Internet research through the Charlottesville Chamber of Commerce led us to a perfect, cozy Bed & Breakfast called the Leathers-Snyders B&B. What an awesome experience we had! The couple who own it, Susan & Jeff, were the BEST hosts that made us feel right at home! Our Room was really cute, very clean and secluded, which is what we were looking for. The Concert Hall was not very far away, so it made it nice afterwards to be able to come right back there. We would've actually walked, but it was December and was a bit chilly! We had to leave very early the next morning, so we weren't able to sit down for Breakfast - but we were given it to go! All in all it was a PERFECT, very brief getaway and we would stay there again in a heartbeat! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivandLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I recently returned from a 4 day stay with friends at the Leathers-Snyder B&B in Charlottesville and highly recommend it. The rooms are extremely comfortable and reasonably priced and the location is ideal--centrally located just a 10-minute walk from the downtown pedestrian mall with all its shops and restaurants, and a short drive from UVA, Monticello and numerous wineries! The hosts, Susan and Jeff, are very welcoming and have lots of suggestions for activities in and around Charlottesville. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Great location: it is within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Great people: Jeff and Susan are incredibly personable and more than willing to help with any questions you may have about the area. The rooms are charming and clean, the sun room being my favorite place to have my coffee in the morning or just sit and peacefully read my book. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here last spring and had a wonderful stay! From the moment we arrived, our hosts made sure that we had everything we needed and felt right at home. Our room was perfect and a very nice size - extremely comfortable. The location was perfect and put us close to everything downtown. The breakfasts were delicious! We look forward to our next stay there in a couple weeks!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiecakes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I would unreservedly recommend a stay at the Leathers Snyder Bed and Breakfast in Charlottesville VA to anyone. This B&B has been meticulously restored to its Victorian charm at 405 Ridge Street in Charlottesville. They have a great website with pictures of the before and after reconstruction. I stayed there for the week of the Virginia Festival of the Book, which is truly wonderful event for bibliophiles. The location is extremely convenient and within walking distance of the UV campus and charming downtown area with many shops and restaurants. While there, I was able to visit Monticello and take in the beautiful countryside and local wineries. The accommodations are clean, the hosts are very friendly and gracious and the breakfast spread plentiful with homemade goodies. This place is just delightful.

1  Thank Washing2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,856 reviews
0.2 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
6.8 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#1 of 16 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Monticello
Inn at Monticello
#3 of 16 in Charlottesville
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leathers-Snyder Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 405 Ridge St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5555
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $140 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Victorian B & B conveniently located in the Heart of Charlottesville VA. You will enjoy exploring all that Charlottesville has to offer from our central location! Located two blocks from the lively pedestrian mall in downtown Charlottesville and close to the University of Virginia, Monticello, John Paul Jones Arena, the Pavilion, the Paramount Theater. Walk to UVA, theaters, musical venues, and over 50 restaurants. The Inn is elegantly restored and comfortably decorated with period antiques and all the modern amenities of air-conditioning, wireless Internet, cable TV and more! The Leathers-Snyder House is a perfect setting for a small wedding, meeting, party or any intimate occasion! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing