We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Dinsmore House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Dinsmore House”
Reviewed October 9, 2006

My wife and I had a great stay recently at the Dinsmore House. The accomodations were wonderful, and the breakfasts were amazing. Great location - walking distance to much of C'Ville, comfortable bed, and the proprietors were gracious and very helpful. One word of caution: Ryan is very unrealistic about his expectations for the Redskins - when I left, he was muttering something about the "brain trust." Outside of that, awesome place - we'll definitely return.

  • Liked — Comfort, convenience.
  • Disliked — Not much - maybe could have had a bigger bathroom.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gamesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    40
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
118
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

After having stayed at the Dinsmore House Inn B&B at least five times, I thought it was time to post on tripadvisor.com to let others know what a great experience it has always been. Having grown up in VA, specifically Williamsburg, I have a great appreciation for historic places. The Dinsmore is an historic building from the early 1800s with incredible character. All the rooms I have stayed in are very tastefully decorated. While you can appreciate the history of the building you never leave the comforts of the 21st Century behind. The bathrooms are great and the beds are incredibly comfortable (I suffer from chronic lower back pain) and always sleep well there. The owners Ryan, Denise and Gail are very friendly, accommodating and customer focused. They are quick to give you solid advice on local attractions, restaurants, and things to do should you have any questions or need suggestions. After a great night of sleep you have a delicious breakfast awaiting you. Truly, a wonderful experience time and again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — great golf and wineries close by ask Ryan for tips
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Fluiddruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

My husband and I have been staying at inns all over the east coast (from Cape Cod to Cape May to Savannah) for about the last 10 years. We traveled through Charlottesville recently during our exploration of the Civil War south and were fortunate enough to pick The Dinsmore House out of the B&B association guide.

Whenever we stay at a B&B we always grade out what we liked and didn't like about the inn. After our 2 nights at the Dinsmore House, Richard and I agreed that it ranks as one of our favorites.

The main criteria we use for our ratings are:
- Innkeepers (VERY engaged and helpful)
- Cleanliness (we're sticklers about this)
- Food (the creme brulee french toast was to die for)
- "Intangibles" (Jeffersonian ties)

The Dinsmore House rated out great on all criteria, especially the helpfullness of the innkeepers (Ryan's the owner and Maxine is the hostess). The "intangibles" in this case is a beautifully restored historic home that could not be more convenient to restaurants and entertainment in Charlottesville. We walked out the door of the inn, hopped on the free trolley to the downtown mall and enjoyed a great meal at ZoCaLo (excellent recommendation!) followed by a Lyle Lovett concert at the downtown amphitheater (what a show!).

Ryan and Denise (husband and wife) have done a great job with the inn, and we can't wait to return in the future.

  • Liked — The helpful staff and great location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Try zocalo for a great restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RPHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We were in Charlottesville as part of a 2 week trip around the East Coast, for an old college room-mate's wedding. Having lived in Williamsburg for a year I had been to Charlottesville before, but staying at the Dinsmore this time round made my trip truly memorable.
We had booked one of the cheaper rooms, but were upgraded on arrival to the Dinsmore room for no extra cost - which was a lovely surprise. The bed was the biggest I have ever seen, and very comfortable. The whole house was restored very well, and my friend was in the Library Room, which also oozed character.
Ryan and Denise were welcoming and helpful, particularly when it came to dinner recommendations, which were made as we all enjoyed a glass of (good) wine together in the early evening. The restaurant they recommended was exactly what we were looking for, which also added to our enjoyment of our stay - we wouldn't have found it without their recommendation.
The breakfast was delicious, and they were very accommodating to the food allergies of one of our party, making something special at no notice.
This was our first experience of B&Bs, and the experience we had here has definitely changed the way we look for accommodation in the States. I had stayed at a chain hotel for my previous visit to Charlottesville, but it was definitely worth the extra few dollars to stay at the Dinsmore - and it really was only a few dollars difference, for an experience that felt like it should have come with a much larger price tag!

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

This B & B is in a great location to walk to the UVA campus (which is quite beautiful)! The innkeepers welcomed us with a glass of wine, some cheese, and suggestions of good restaurants and wineries to visit. Ryan made reservations for us at the Ivy Inn, a really excellent restaurant (watch out- the drinks were $10 a piece, though!!) Our room was comfortable, but as in many older homes, there weren't many outlets and trying to get fixed up in the tiny bathroom with a very small mirror, curling iron heating on the toilet seat, was a challenge (we were in the summer porch room). This room still needs some renovation in the bathroom and is small, but has all the basics. The bed was about as hard as we've ever encountered, although the sheets were expensive. The other rooms we peaked in looked very nice. It was a little hard to sleep because the air conditioner was right over the bed and had to be blasting all night due to the heat (but my husband used to sleep in that situation when he was a kid, so he found it comforting).

Ryan suggested the King Family Vineyard as a fun place to visit, and it was. It has beautiful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains as you sit on the brick patio, sip your wine, and munch on some french bread. You can bring your picnic and bag chairs if you wish to eat heartier. We'd go back to this place, for sure.

For the money, I'd probably stay in the Marriott Courtyard next door rather than stay in this particular room again, but as I said, the other rooms looked much nicer (we were in the budget section, which was our choice). The more expensive rooms looked quite elegant and would certainly have more character than the Courtyard.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Fishers_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2006

We chanced upon the Dinsmore House last fall and what a find it was! So when we returned to Charlottesville this weekend, we knew we had to stay there again. For us, the way you feel about a place is how you are welcomed when you walk in the front door. Ryan, the innkeeper could not be more personable, and his wonderful mother is helping out and provides the most welcome welcome! Charming and comfortable - inside and out. Perfect location across from UVA, and right on free trolley line to downtown fabulous pedestrian area. Delicious breakfast, large and homey room. . Charming breakfast area. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Dinsmore House is a beautiful B&B run by kind and truly helpful hosts. A group of us stayed there while on a business trip, but we all agreed we will return when we visit Charlottesville for any reason.
The rooms we stayed in: Dinsmore, Madison, Monroe, and Sleeping Porch were all well-appointed, meticulously clean, and very welcoming.

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms had all the 'extras' we'd forgotten to pack.

Breakfasts were delicious, conveniently-timed, and catered to three different diet requirements.

And the hosts Ryan and Denise gave us excellent tips about the area and maintained a welcoming, but not intrusive atmosphere at the inn.

Dinsmore House made our work week feel like a vacation. We loved our visit!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Dinsmore House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1211 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2823
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Dinsmore House Hotel Charlottesville
The Dinsmore House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing