We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
“Very Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Hotel recently had a significant remodeling. Rooms, service and value were outstanding. Good WiFi coverage within hotel. Location is right on UVA campus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear TJ6660

Thank you for your reveiw, we appreciate it anytime someone takes time out of their day to let us know about their stay.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    151
    140
    79
    51
See reviews for
204
93
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chapel hill, nc
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Overall, disappointing. Heat did not work in first room & maintenance couldn't fix it...so they wanted us to "wait a few hours to see if it starts working." After changing rooms, the second room had minimal heat. Elevators smelled AWFUL (musty...could barely breathe inside them). One front desk staff rude, other could not have been nicer & more accommodating. Rooms are noisy because right on busy road. Pictures made it look like a nice hotel, but this is because they have renovated the lobby ONLY & they don't show pictures of rooms...now I know why. Beds & pillows extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdedfg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear abcdefg_10,

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, We always appreciate when a guest takes time to let us know about their stay. We take all of the comments and suggestions we receive seriously. Your reveiw will help us ensure that we improve upon how we serve our guests.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at the Cavalier Inn to attend a concert at the John Paul Jones arena. The room was clean and adequate a little tight, but it served its purpose. The location was great, walking distance to the arena with several amenities near by.
The front desk seemed like it needed about 3 more staff people to make it run at an efficient level. When we arrived there was one person trying to man the phones, check people in and serve as the cashier for the small lobby shop all at once. Therefore, our check in was rather long and the line grew behind us to seemingly an unmanageable length by the time we were on the way to our room.

The elevators are in dire need of "something" To start... a good cleaning and an air freshener. We were housed on the 5th floor but we opted for the stairs more than once as the stench of burning dust or heated metal (we couldn't quite tell) was just too much to take.

The parking lot was very tight but close and easy to find a spot in.
The diner in the next lot was excellent. Friendly service and good diner style food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

UVA has bought this hotel and tried to upgrade it with a renovation. The renovation is ok, but the service is horrible. A loud bus idling outside the front entrance woke us all up at 5:45. A call to the front desk got no action. I had to get dressed and find the bus driver to tell him to turn off the engine (no one was on the bus). He did so and apologized. Upon check-out, the receptionist shrugged about the experience. Not worth $95 a night plus taxes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highmiles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear High Miles 88,

I was sorry to hear that your experience was less than you expected, we serve many guests each evening and we try to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one. It was unfortunate that your experience did not meet your expectations. As you would have noted by now you did receive a refund as a result of your complaint.

We hope your travels in the future are pleasant. If there is anything we can do for you in the future while here in Charlottesville please let us know.

Thank you,

General Manager
Cavalier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Booked this hotel because of the proximity to the John Paul Jones Arena. Traveled with my daughter to attend the Muse concert on October 27. This hotel was perfect for us. I had booked the king room suite through Orbitz (great price for a suite) with original intent that husband and son would also be traveling with us. Although they were unable to go, my daughter and I enjoyed the room alone. It appeared that the furnishings had recently been updated and our room was previously 2 rooms to make one. The staff was very friendly and we both enjoyed the cookies that were provided. The bed was so comfortable that we had a hard time getting out of it in the morning. I did not get a chance to have breakfast but my daughter, who is 9, said it was very good. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahRollason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

If you are looking for a good value place to stay which has clean rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, friendly staff, and a convenient location to UVA and downtown Charlottesville, I recommend the Cavalier Inn. The staff was friendly, housekeeping was very good, and we did not have any problems during our four-day stay here. I would definitely stay here again. An added plus is that the rates were much lower than what chain hotels of similar value charge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The price is a little bit expensive. It's near the traffic and quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notbad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear Notbad2000

Thank you for your review, we appreciate our guests taking the time out of their busy schedule to write about their experience with us, please know that we take all the comments and suggestions about our hotel seriously, thi helps us know what we are doing right, what we do wrong and how we can improve our guests experience.

Thank you again
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing