We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comedy of errors all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A comedy of errors all around”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We chose this hotel based on the AAA recommendation that is posted through a travel site, and so were expecting much more than we actually received. The building itself is rather run down in appearance, and this carried through to the inside. The elevator doors sounded like the entrance to a tomb, between their creeking and squeeling. At one point in our stay one of the UVA football players staying in the hotel had to push the elevator door shut in order for the elevator to move.

When we first got off the elevator, we were greeted with a half painted wall and paint fumes that wafted into our room. As we were unpacking, we were welcomed with the sounds of hammering and drilling from the room beneath us, which sounded as though the construction person was standing in our room. When I went to hang up my shirt, the provided rack with hangers half fell out of the wall with the drywall anchor exposed. At this point the air conditioner kicked on, producing an oh-so-lovely sewage odor, along with a rattling noise which would keep my wife and I up the majority of the night. If you hope to take a shower, be prepared for the brackish brown water that will first flow out of the pipes, and the trickle of water you will get from the showerhead as the majority of water flow is diverted to the faucet.

We actually checked out a day early and drove back to DC, rather than stay an extra night and finish our vacation. When we asked to speak to the hotel manager, he seemed to be inconvenienced to take our complaint. The front desk staff, however, was helpful and very apologetic. Needless to say, we will never be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    157
    148
    87
    54
See reviews for
223
98
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The main thing recommending this hotel is it's proximity to UVA's campus. Hotel is older, has an outdoor pool, and is quite convenient to walking to UVA's campus, which is across the street, literally. AC worked fine but was loud and bothered my wife. Room was adequate, but fixtures/mechanics seemed a little dated. One of the building's two elevators was not working when we visited. Front desk personnel are very friendly, and and with AAA discount a King room was around 100.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I had a positive experience. The hotel is a bit old but my room was clean and comfortable and even had a refrigerator. Service was good and helpful. The price was unbeatable. Location is great for UVA. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLeanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear McLeanTraveller,

I appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review for our hotel, thank you for the positive comments; I am very pleased that you were satisfied with your stay. I hope that you have the opportunity to return soon to see all of the renovations to our guest rooms, all of the public spaces as well as our new state of the art Fitness Center and new Business Center

Thank you,
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We took a chance on this hotel based on the location right across the street from the University of VA. We asked for a room with a fridge, and initially it was not provided, but we had one within an hour. The staff was very friendly and the lobby was warm and welcoming. Overall the hotel had character. The room was clean, the beds relatively comfortable and everything worked. Nothing fancy, but everything satisfactory. There was some construction occurring, but it did not interfere with the stay. The pool area was very nice, though having to access it thru the front parking area was a little inconvenient. The complimentary continental breakfast was the best I have ever had at a mid-priced hotel. The sausage, sausage rolls, waffles, pancakes, french toast, etc was kept well supplied. It was walking distance to The Corner and UVA. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redskinfan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear Redskinfan09,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel, we are pleased that you were happy with your stay, we also like to hear from everyone even if it is not as positive as your review, I hope you can return in the fall and see the new rooms and public spaces in the hotel along with the new business center and Fitness center.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

Thank you
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Cavalier Inn is very close and within walking distance to the UVA campus. However, that is the only plus that I can identify for staying at this hotel. Our room was very old and out of date, hallway carpet is worn out, damp, and stained, and the complimentary breakfast was minimal at best. Hotel in need of renovation/ reminiscent of motor lodges when I was a child, but not updated...............When I asked the front desk if they could drive us to the other side of the campus, they declined, saying that they do not provide shuttle service on the weekend..........so the shuttle sat there in the lot and we found other transportation. Price was reasonable, but we got what we paid for. Too many other new and accomodating hotels in the area to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear Ravenmaven,

Thank you for your review, We are currently renovating the hotel all guest rooms and public spaces, we are adding a new state of the art Fitness center. all of our rooms will feature new carpeting, drapes, bedding, mirror's, lighting, refrig/microwave combo, 32 inch flat screen TV's with 150 channels, new wall vinyl, all the rooms and public area's will have been completely done over. We hope in the future that you can come back and see for yourself all of the improvements. Again I appreciate when our guests tell us about their experience.

Thank you
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

First, the front desk was great-- Dan and Adam were on point and very responsive.

Positives:
The room was ok, a bit older, but obviously the property was trying to maintain some standards.
The AC was fine, the linens ok.
Staff gave me a Emmet-view room as I asked.
Free breakfast

Areas to improve:
The refrigerator (I asked to be in a room with a fridge) looked as if it had never been cleaned.
My sheets were not changed on the second day, you may need to request that. I'mnot sure why that annoyed me, I don't change sheets everday at home, but I like fresh sheets while traveling.
The internet had a poor connection, but worked 65% of the time.
There were long brown hairs on the shower walls (not mine).
Breakfast was a disappointment (boiled eggs, mystery meat, cold biscuits), just a step above continental. Go on and splurge, management. You have a good set-up.

With more focus on housekeeping, this hotel could easily be above average

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slt8y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear Slt8y1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we always appreciate when guests that have stayed with us takes the time to write a review, they are very important to us, they let us know when we are doing good and most importantly when we don't so we can make corrections. I will tell you that our hotel is currently under renovations and all of our guest rooms are being renovated, all our rooms will feature flat screen tv's, refrigerator/microwave combo, new carpeting, drapes, bedding, art work, lighting, we will also have a new state of the art fitness center as well, I hope that you can return to see and experience all the improvements

Thank you,

Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed here for a week. The staff were great- friendly and very helpful. However, I had a number of problems with this place. The housekeeping was poor- the sheets were never changed during my stay, and one day they didn't empty the garbage can. The instructions for the A/C didn't make sense and were obviously out-of-date. It was very loud and blasted out cold air all night. There was a long heater stuck to the wall. With temperatures at 90+ outside, why was this thing on? They also changed the rate at the last minute, charging me much more for the weekend. The breakfast was awful- soggy frozen waffles, stale bagels and mushy fruit. All served with plastic cutlery and paper plates! And they ran of out many items half-way through the stay. The hair dryer was hanging loose from the wall. The carpets were stained with what looked like shoe polish. Also, despite telling me that they offer a shuttle service, this does not apply to Sunday. Their 'Business Centre' consisted of a desk with one computer and a printer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsatterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Dear R. Satterley,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, I was saddened to see that you were not happy with your stay. We serve many guests each evening and try our best to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one, it was disappointing to see that was not so in your stay. We take all of the comments and suggestions we receive seriously, so we can tell what we are doing right and when things are not so well so that we can correct them. If a guest let’s us know during their stay that there is a problem it gives us a chance to correct any issues that you may have. We are currently under going renovations of the entire hotel everything will be new by the end of this summer. I hope that you will return so that we can show you how things have improved for all of our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review we appreciate all reviews good or bad.

Thank you
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing