We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some help!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
A TripAdvisor Member
312
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Was in Charlottesville for a conference and stayed at this hotel. The lobby is nice and is close to UVA. HOWEVER, the rooms need to be modernized. I had friends who stayed on the street side of the hotel and the noise kept them up all night.

Continental breakfast was very poor. Check in was terrible. They couldn't find my reservations even with a confirmation number. Next time I'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 529 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2004

The hotel has a nice lobby, and the rooms in the hotel are clean, but the climate control unit in my room was very loud. That was my chief complaint. It had some sort of fan that kept me awake at night. I went down to the front desk to complain but they offered me little help. Unfortunately the room had two thermostats and at 3 in the morning it took me a very long time to figure out which one shut the unit off.

So, the noise drove me crazy but other than that the place was fine. There is a decent breakfast, though it's nothing special, and a nice lobby and small bookstore. There's a shuttle to the airport/train station as well - but be sure to request it far in advance, because when I asked for it about 8 hours before my departure to the train station, I was told that it was full. Then I ended up walking to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Right_in_Sight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
15
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Even though we had no connection with the nearby University of Virginia, the location was convenient for most of the attractions in the Charlottesville area. The room was comfortable enough, too, but we were unhappy about the way a bedside lamp, plugged behind a bed, was dislodged by a mattress and by the fact that corridor lights were not switched on for some hours after dark.
The worst feature, though, was the breakfast. To describe it as de luxe is laughable, since the fare was meagre, and the breakfast room, described as "charming" in one travel guide, was anything but. The staff seemed to take no pride in their work, offering the minimum service and advice. A disappointment, in a state where otherwise we enjoyed friendliness and warmth everywhere we went.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2004

Very nice lobby, but it ends there. The rooms are small and desperately need to be updated. If you are unfortunate enough to have a room on the "road" side, prepare for a lot of noise.

They have a continental breakfast, just barely.

They have a "business center" with a computer for guests to use, but they charge 50 cents a minute for internet access!

These rooms are worth about half of what they charge. Unless you MUST be adjacent to the UVa campus, look elsewhere.

6  Thank aggie8387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2004

This Best Western is an average hotel. Rooms are quite small, but comfortably furnished with 2 double beds. They are clean and modern. The bathroom is set up so that the shower and WC are in one room and the sink area is an extension of the bedroom. A continental breakfast is included and is served daily in a room off the lobby. There is a very small outdoor swimming pool which is only open during summer months. The main reason for staying in this hotel is its proximity to the University of Virginia campus. You can leave your car at the hotel and walk everywhere. If you are coming to Charlottesville for other reasons than UVA business I would look into other hotels in the town.

8  Thank scasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajarViver2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Front Office Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.9 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
153 reviews
2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1728
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $63 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing