We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

This hotel is truly gross--outdated rooms, dirty facilities, and a pathetic business center, as other reviewers have noted. It is definitely worth paying a bit more to stay at any of, for instance, the Hampton Inns in Cville, which are much nicer.

I understand that the Cavalier Inn is slated for destruction by UVA in the near future--hence the lack of investment in the property. They should sell opportunities to bang away at it with the wrecking ball--I would buy one.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tbwhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay all hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    151
    140
    79
    51
See reviews for
204
93
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ALEXANDRIA va
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

It was with fear and trepidation that I booked a room on Labor Day (Sept 1, 2008) at the Cavalier Inn after reading about the terrible conditions and rotten time that several posters suffered. We had stayed there two years ago when we dropped our son off at UVA and had to drive up with a spare set of car keys he had lost..Back then, we found the place clean and what we have come to realistically expect for under a $100 for a double room in such a desirable location. It seems a real bargain.

It is no longer a Best Western franchise, instead it is owned and operated by the University of Virginia foundation. Our shower was very clean with no mold, carpet dry, and the front desk as friendly as possible. True, it is not the Omni but it was only one hundred dollars ($89 rate plus $5 state & $5 local tax) while the cheapest rate at Omni was two hundred dollars. It is finishing up a renovation project and the heater and air conditioner were new instead of the old window boxy units. the decor is still dated and not replaced, instead they have pictures of UVA teams and UVA colors in the lobby.

What we loved both times was the great breakfast that is included as part of the price. It is called "continental" but there were hard boiled eggs, bagels, english muffins, pastries, yoplait fruit yogurt, banannas, apples, cheerios (plus two other cereals I forget) all with 3 coffeee dispensers and two toasters. Not to mention free parking and being a three minute drive from our son's dorm.

  • Liked — proximity to UVA and price
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CHARM2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

I am an extensive traveler and this is bar-none, the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I knew Thomas Jefferson designed the UVa campus, but I didn't know he built this hotel as well - at least that's how old it seemed.

It is no longer a Best Western, probably because BW doesn't want their name attached to such a dingy place. It needs to be razed and built anew.

The main problem was the rooms are disgusting. The carpet in our room was soaked, not wet, but soaked. My kids walked around in socks at first, then we noticed their socks were soaked. They walked in sandals the rest of the 2 days there. Of course, wet floors mean mold and mold means smell. The room stunk of what I am sure were several hundred species of molds and mildews. The hotel was sold out during our time their due to 3 weddings at UVa, so we were stuck there.

Worse off, the bath was totally repugnant. My brother in law refused to take a shower in his without his sandals. Our room had mold all over the grought and caulk around the tiles and I was afraid to touch any part of the tile wall or the shower curtain.

The 'business center' is a sorry excuse for a room with 2 pc's with desktops on the ground, cluttered wires everywhere and 2 monitors on a countertop. Neither pc worked when i first tried then i realized the internet cables were unplugged. After plugging it in, I was able to get on one website, but since the hotel is now owed by UVa, they block access to almost EVERY commercial site (espn, cnn, google, etc...).

Overall a terrible place to stay, no matter the price. I only hope that we didn't bring any bedbugs or aspergillus home.

  • Disliked — Nasty odors, wet carpets, mold in tub
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank receptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Sicklerville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

This hotel is conveniently located on the main road of town and walking distance from the University of Virginia. The room was small for a family of four. It could use some updating. The continental breakfast was good! Plenty of food and room to relax in the eating area. Couches and TV are available. The service was prompt and helpful. We did have a little problem with our reservation cost but was resolved. We spent sometime in the pool at the end of the day after viewing the local historical sites. The pool was very clean and a nice size. The exterior of the building and parking lot needs some updating. Restaurants are close by. Overall a nice hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

This is the worst hotel I have stayed at in a very long time. The first impression is deceiving. The outside of the building looks a little old, but the lobby is bright and clean. This is the last bright or clean thing you will see. The set-up looks like a third-rate motel. Each room looks out to a motel-style corridor with the entire wall being a window, giving very little privacy. As soon as I walked in the first thing I noticed was the stench. The room was labeled as non-smoking but it smelled like someone had tried to cover the smell of smoke (and who knows what else) with some kind of cheap deodorant. Then I realized that we had been assigned a full bed, when the reservation had been for a King-size. I called the reception and they were very polite and offered to switch us to another room. When we got there we realized that (though the stench was a little less noticeable) there were two full beds (still not a king). We decided to stay anyway, since it was not as smelly. Throughout the stay a variety of other inconveniences took place. Lights were dim and most of them didn't work, the coffee machine had left-over coffee on the bottom, and the place was so dirty that I felt I needed a shower as soon as I got out of the room. Also, don't even think of using the "business center" -- neither the internet nor printers work. When I tried to print something out and the letters came out gray, I politely asked the front-desk staff if they could replace the toner. The person in charge said they had no toner, or that was not the problem or mumbled something else without really apologizing. The next day, instead of solving the problem by replacing the toner, it seems they had decided to simply remove the printer. I have stayed at better Motel 6s for about half the price. The hotel managers (or whoever is in charge) know that the place is a hell-hole but do nothing about it because they know they can get away with it -- the hotel is centrally located and convenient to the university. Don't make our mistake, go ANYWHERE else -- the Budget Inn across the street looked relatively new and somewhat cleaner (and half the price).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mgonza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

This hotel's motel-style outdoor room entry is troublesome. The hotel is located on a main road in a fairly populated part of the University of Virginia and it can be noisy, drafty, or both. The room was clean but the decor was straight out of 1971. Also, the lighting was extremely difficult: There was no light switch near the entrance, so I had to fumble around in the dark and eventually found the bed light. There was no overhead light to speak of.

After cranking up the heat (on admittedly one of the coldest nights Charlottesville has seen this winter) I heard what sounded like a medium-size leafblower starting. This was the heating. To my relief/dismay, it went off five minutes later leaving me in peace, yet frigid throughout the night.

The one bright spot was the front desk head. The next morning he lent me an ice scrapper to clear my rental car's windshield. That was kind of him.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We booked this hotel on Best Western's website and recieved a discount. But that should have alerted us right then. The rooms looked clean on the surface upon walking in but that changed right away. The furniture was old and scratched, and the blankets and sheets smelled very badly. The TV looked alright, but half the channels were fuzzy. The carpet looked fairly clean, but I didn't let my kids or myself walk on it w/o shoes. The bathroom sink, which was located outside of the actual bathroom was the cleanest thing in the whole room. The bathroom toilet and tub was filthy. Mold everywhere: on the ceiling, floor, walls, etc.... The shower wouldn't work properly and didn't drain. We had to literally pull the nasty plug out completely for it to drain. The coffee pot still had old coffee grinds in it for who knows how long, plus it didn't work. The alarm clock worked but looked like it was from the 1980's. The trim around the doors and walls were filthy with hand prints and dirt. And to top it all off, around 10pm on a Saturday night, a huge riot formed in the parking lot with yelling and fighting. About 5 police cars came and broke it up about an hour later. We would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolynn717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used. It is very important to all of the hospitality industry that we hear from all guests and potential guests, it is how we forge the changes that make a difference in your stay in hotels, We sincerely hope that our failure to respond in a timely manner does not deter you from leaving future reviews on places that you utilize and frequent. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes for all of our guests and have their stay be a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing