We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One disappointment after another.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One disappointment after another.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The prior 2 nights we stayed at the English Inn and I wish we had stayed! Thinking the Cavalier would be much closer to my husbands class at Darden we stayed at the 2 hotels over a weeks time. The Cavalier: room nicely done for the level of hotel, but no air ventilation for the bathroom, just heating and cooling incoming. If you are second taking a shower it will be wet on the walls and floor in there. Our bathroom did not get cleaned the 1st day, and after speaking with a nice manager about this , we came back to a clean toilet and floor, but the blob of conditioner remained in the shower. Our keys had to be recoded every time we wanted to get in our room, meaning back down to the front desk. Called for a shuttle from airport, and after waiting 50minutes, called again to find none had been sent. They had us take a taxi and the hotel paid for it. Breakfast is sorely lacking, although the woman manning it is friendly. A bit messy with spills etc around empty coffee pots, the toasters need to be replaced as only one side heats up, making you flip your toast. A straight up continental breakfast with better quality and cleanliness would be much better than an almost hot offering. Overall I'd gladly spend the $20 more per night and get the fantastic breakfast and service at the English Inn, which is equal distance to the graduate end of the UVA campus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5travelingmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Hello
Thank you for your time and for your review, I was disappointed to see that you were unhappy with your stay with us, we serve many guests each night and it is always disappointing to see when a guest says they are not satisfied with their stay, with the constant changing of items on our breakfast bar has been trial and error and looking to get feedback from our guests before they leave the hotel allows us to make changes and to try and correct any shortcomings that we may have, it also is a concern when a guest wants to stay elsewhere. The UVA campus is quite large spreading out over several miles throughout Charlottesville, most of our guest appreciate that we are in the heart of the campus and within walking distance to the Rotunda building, the hospital the book store along with Alumni Hall and the Admissions office, most people are not willing to walk the 1 plus miles that the English Inn is away from us to get to the area that visitors and parents come to here to visit on the UVA grounds. We hope that you might try us again to see that the service you received is not what our guest receives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    151
    140
    79
    51
See reviews for
204
93
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Classic motor lodge across a busy intersection from UVA. If you were any closer to campus, you'd be paying tuition. Clean, popular, well-tended property with plenty of free, safe parking. In European terms, it's between 2-3 stars. Pet friendly for a nominal fee. Nice pool area is good for cooling off after a hot day. Breakfast is somewhat weak, but there are plenty of options for more substantial AM fare in the immediate area. Easy access to I-64 and to downtown Charlottesville. Friendly, accommodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate when guests take the time to write a review to let us know how we are doing. We are in the process of changing our items on our breakfast bar to try and get items that people enjoy, not everyone likes the eggs and bacon or sausage gravy and biscuits that we serve or like making their own waffles, so we are trying different items, we hope on your next trip you sill stay with us and let the staff know before you leave what your thoughts on our breakfast buffet are. Again thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed one night on our way back from Monticello to home and really just wanted a nice place to relax before our trip in the morning. The online reservation system was very good. The room was very clean and I liked the appearance and color scheme. The desk area would be very nice for a business traveler. This is obviously a good place for new students checking out the university to stay so there were a lot of 18 year olds around (that wasn't a problem just to let you know the atmosphere). The rooms open to the outside so it can be a little noisy when people are passing by. I did think that the beds were very firm and needed a mattress pad. The breakfast area is very clean and pleasant and I thought they had a nice selection to choose from (greek yogurt was a very nice touch!). I would stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Hello

We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to write a review about our hotel, it is always nice to see when a guest is pleased with what we do, with serving so many guests on a daily basis we try very hard to make sure each guests stay is a pleasant one. we hope that on your next visit to Charlottesville that you will stay with us again.

Thank you
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here because the other 6 places I called were booked. The location was great and the staff were friendly. But the renovation did not cover all the warts. The pool needs some fixing and the breakfast bar is good to average.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcds96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Hello
thank you for your review, we appreciate when any of our guests take time to let us know how their stay experience was. We are in the process of starting our second phase of our renovations with will include the pool area when the season comes to an end, as well as the guest bath and vanity areas. I hope on your next trip to Charlottesville that you will stay and give us a change and you can see the finished product.

Again, thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write your review.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I accompanied my husband on a business trip and we stayed here for almost 2 weeks. Although, it is an older hotel, it has been nicely updated. Above all, it is so nice and clean. The housekeeping crew does a lovely job and the front desk staff is outstanding! The hotel is by UVA and all the wonderful restaurants in the Corner area. It is a long walk or short drive to the Barracks shopping area. Breakfast is adequate, but hey, it's complimentary. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Hello
It is always nice to see and hear when we get things right, I am pleased that you were happy with your stay and we appreciate all of our guests when they write reviews to let us know how we are doing and how we can improve. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Charlottesville

Thank you
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The only thing good about the Cavlier Inn is the location. Otherwise, it is old and in need of major renovations. The service was slow and the staff was not very friendly. I arrived in the morning, before check-in, but the front desk staff made no effort to see if my room could possibly be ready before 3 p.m. (most hotels would at least try!). When I returned a little after 3 p.m. they acted liked I had never been there before and of course my room was still not ready (other guests were being checked in as I waited), Finally when I got my room (after 3 p.m) it was down a very ugly hall/corridor facing the road that was hotter than a sauna. The carpet was full of stains and it looked like it came right out of a bad movie. The room itself was OK although the air conditioning was too strong which couldn't be controled so I had to turn it off altogether. The next morning I went to breakfast which was awfull! Terrible coffee, no cereal and very few other selecctions. I decided to walk to Starbucks instead to buy my own coffee. The only reason to stay at the Cavallier is the location. UVA could do so much better!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay we apologize that your review was not responded to in a proper time frame it was missed due to a change in the system we used, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay so we can learn and make the necessary changes to make all of our guests stay a pleasant one. Again, we truly and sincerely apologize that your review was overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Northeast Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Cavalier Inn overnight on our way down to the Outer Banks and were going to see Monticello on the way. I picked it for it's location (about 5 miles from Monticello and right on the grounds of the University of Virginia) and the price was right. The rooms were nice, well decorated, beds weren't TOO firm (like 99% of most places!). They have a nice pool too. The free breakfast was fine, the usual offerings plus make your own waffles. The seating area was large and pleasant. All in all no complaints! I would like to visit Charlottesville again someday, it looked like a very interesting town.

Room Tip: I got the best price booking through the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcat725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Hello

Thank you very much for your review, we serve many guests each day and try to make everyone's stay a pleasant one, it is great to see when our guesst are pleased and left happy, we certainly hope when you come to Charlottesville again that you choose to stay with us.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing