We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boy my husband did good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“boy my husband did good”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We went down to Virginia for Camp Jeep; my husband booked a hotel that had bad cyber reviews and then found the English Inn through the Camp Jeep information. What a marvelous hotel. We were not there very much but for the time we were, we really enjoyed all of the amenities and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would definately recommend staying here and would definately stay here again in the future. Great place!

  • Liked — very classy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeeprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    295
    105
    28
    18
See reviews for
395
315
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My family stays here everytime we come into town. The breakfast is the best I've ever had at a hotel. I highly recommend the English Inn.

  • Liked — Room, Breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dianem1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Couldn't have had a more wonderful experience! Property was immmaculate and inviting, with smiling and pleasant desk clerks efficiently handling the check-in duties. Soothing classical music gave the Inn a real feel of London. The room was so clean, surgery could have been performed. THe pool was just as advertised, very large and warm. High tea at 4:00 with the warm cookies was icing on the cake for my kids. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to this gem called Charlottesville, or more specifically, to the University of Virginia.

  • Liked — theme
  • Disliked — traffic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RHWBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I was pleasantly surprised. The service at the front desk and reservations was VERY hospitable. It set the mood for the the stay. (cannot change a 1st impression).

The facility is aged but kept up fairly nicely. The rooms are old but not trashed. Internet did not work in the room and missing some parts.

The pool was refreshing and kept up. I usually don't use hotel pools because they look old and nasty...(and too many kids)...but this was very nice and relaxing. (loved the pool towels).

  • Liked — The welcoming service and breakfast was comfortable.
  • Disliked — No bar to relax at.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The English Inn was absolutely wonderful. Very clean and cheerful, with a helpful, courteous, pleasant staff. Great attention paid to every detail! A warm and friendly place to return to each night. There was not one thing we could complain about. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and a great way to start the day. The English Inn helped to make our vacation perfect. We will definitely stay there again when in the area, and I would recommend it to everyone. The only disappointment was that our day trips kept us out late and we missed High Tea and the fresh baked cookies every day! We will be certain to plan better next time.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kassie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My Wife and I along with our Daughter and her Family (Husband and Two Grandchildren , under 10 yrs) stayed for a full week this July . Daughter and Family had a Larger room set up with a very comfortable rollaway bed for the children, refrigerator and microwave. Both of our rooms had very comfortable King beds.
The Inn was a new experience for me as I was used to staying at Chain Motels/Hotels ", they are functional and courteous) I traveled several weeks a year in my career and this was my first experience with the Inn. From the first day to the last it was FANTASTIC. Rooms were spotless, comfortable and although the Inn was near filled it was a quiet atmosphere and no outside road noise etc. was detectable.
The (more than adequate) Breakfast Buffet was an extra bonus, complementary for all guests. The food that was supposed to be hot was and what was supposed to be cold was. All the fruits were fresh and several types of juices were provided along with various coffees and milk(s). The staff more than extened themselves for us. ICost was well within reason, being the "Gramps" on this trip we were given the "Seasoned Citizen" discount and hats off to the management as our Son_Law, who is in the Military, was given a "Military discount" for he and his Family. I would highly recomend The English Inn of Charlottesville, VA.
PS: I left photos in our room of our Children / Grandchildren and they mailed them to me @ no charge the next morning.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank papason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
172 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Cannot say enough good about this property. Room was comfortable and VERY clean. Staff responded quickly and couteously to every request. Location was in a safe area. Free hot and cold breakfast served each morning in a lovely dining room. YUMMY scrambled eggs! We do alot of traveling - rarely do we find a hotel in which there is not one negative. Will definately return if we are ever in the Charlottesville area again. There is a bagel shop called Bodo's right next door that serves very reasonable sandwiches. Delicious Chinese food at a restaurant across the street. Convenient to all attractions.

  • Liked — Felt safe and the pleasant staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing