We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine, yet caveat lector”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2009

There’s nothing like noise to spoil an otherwise perfectly fine accommodation. Especially when you are booked for several days and you know that you are going to either make an issue out of it or just pull out the earplugs. I did too little of the former and too much of the latter. We were booked into the newly constructed and separate building across the parking lot/reception area. We had a King Suite, room 11M on the ground floor. It shared common walls with three other rooms. We could hear conversations within the two adjoining suites on the same level, but we were lucky, they were rare. The occupants of those rooms were considerate, probably just as aware of us as we, them. However from above, heavy feet fell back and forth, to and fro, drawers slammed, chairs banged, suitcases plopped and dropped. And when the sofa bed above us came out and landed on the floor--boom! Why would anyone build a new building designed for sleeping and allow inexpensive and cheap noise-conducting materials to be used? I’m guessing there were aluminum beams and a hollow space between the upstairs suite’s floor and our ceiling—as unfortunate as it was permanent. If you intend to stay in the new wing ask for a 2nd floor suite and be kind to the people below you. Otherwise be prepared for the occasional jolt from sleep when people move around upstairs, especially if they are late carousers or early risers—or both.
Within the suite, yes, everything looked and seemed new, but cabinets were staring to come unhinged and the walls bounced, not absorbed, sound. The bathroom fan went on loudly when we switched on the lights--there was no choice. In the middle of the night it was no secret when we had to use the loo.
I had no idea if the older main building had the same problems. I do know that if we had been booked into a 2nd floor suite in our same building we would have enjoyed our stay far, far more. It was clean. There was a buffet breakfast, a huge pool, Internet in the room (bring your Ethernet cable) among other perks. The Inn had an unique feel inside and out, a big plus in my book. It was very well located for us as we intended to do and see more (like Monticello, Montpelier, lower Skyline Drive, eat pizza in Crozet, etc.) than just explore downtown Charlottesville, which we did. (Hint: while downtown, park in a garage as parking is at premium. Then stroll along the downtown outdoor mall and eat alfresco at a restaurant of your choice.) The English Inn is at the upper range of a budget accommodation, but it is a good value. Except for those thin walls and hollow ceilings, mind you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Charlottesville. It is clean, quiet, and has old-fashioned charm, yet offers internet and wi-fi access. They have a wonderful breakfast and beautiful pool. The fitness room is a little lacking, but the comfortable rooms and pleasent staff make this a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swatson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I have stayed here twice now and we love it. This place offers a lot of extra services and has an excellent breakfast and is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jumpin_Johnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

My wife and I used the hotel as a base from which to visit the many historical sites in the Charlottesville area, and were very happy with our lodging experience. The room was moderately priced, clean, some what larger than standard size, and contained a small fridge,microwave, and coffee machine. Everything was in good working order! The staff were most pleasant, and very helpful in providing drivinng directions to the places we wanted to visit. The hotel is conveniently located with respect to the main highway, tourist destinations, restaurants, and a major shopping center. The complimentary breakfast included scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. Parking is free and convenient. The large heated indoor swimming pool was very inviting after a full day's sightseeing. One minor criticism is that the hotel advertises "high tea" in the afternoon, which turned out to be one type cookie and self-service coffee/tea pressure cylinders.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaydelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our rooms were comfortable and there was a little room with an extra TV, sofa, and desk.
The breakfast was very nice and more varied than the usual chain hotel. They served coffee, tea, and cookies between 4 and 6. We got a really good discount using Triple AAA. It was clean and had a large sitting room for the afternoon tea time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariaDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I had not planned a stop-over in Charlottesville on our return trip from Washington DC to North Carolina. However, we found ourselves driving through Charlottesville around 7:30 pm and decided we would rather stop for the night than to arrive home at midnight. We had no access to reviews of the area hotels. After 45 minutes of stopping at and calling various hotels only to find them full, overpriced, or looking run down, we stumbled across the English Inn. It was a pleasant surprise.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and clean. Bath and Body Works shampoo, conditioner, soap and lotion. The area is back off of the main road - so, it was quiet. The hot breakfast buffet is something that is a rare find when traveling and staying at the better known chain hotels. The buffet consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, gravy, biscuits, french toast, cooked apples, grits and fresh fruit - as well as the usual cold/hot cereals, bagles, etc.

We will definitely stay at the English Inn again when returning to Charlottesville!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We chose the English Inn based on web information only and our expectations upon arrival were exceeded. The hotel is attractively and comfortably appointed, located close to downtown and surrounding attractions. Service of the hot breakfast in the elegant Windsor Room was delightful. The staff provided southern hospitality and keep the facility in excellent order. Our only complaint is that the beds were less than comfortable. The mattresses were VERY firm and the sheets were clean but not soft.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukeslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
329 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
991 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $89 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing