We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Inn of Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“An excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in all the major hotel chains all over the world. The English Inn is a very good value. I was hesitant at first because of the themed decor, but the service and cleanliness are top notch. I relaxed before I even entered the front door as beautiful classical music drifted across the driveway. They are "the last independent in the birthplace of independence" and hope to remain independent by offering an excellent experience at a good price. Their outreach projects to the local community nonprofits are admirable as well. Tina and Rod run a tight ship at the generous hot breakfast bar. Thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimeeriegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    276
    103
    28
    18
See reviews for
372
304
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

From the moment I called for a reservation I was treated with kindness and courtesy. The management and staff welcomed my colleagues and me and insured our brief stay in Charlottesville was pleasant and productive. We were upgraded to the suites and the rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff followed up to insure we were satisfied. The breakfast the following morning was very good and we were permitted to check out later to complete our business. This is an outstanding hotel with a superior staff. I doubt there is a better place to stay in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddconormon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Location is convenient. Rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Tasty hot breakfast. High tea every afternoon with delicious cookies. Bodo's Bagels and city public garden are nearby. The best feature is the friendly and professional staff! Their priority is to ensure your stay is a pleasant experience. Kathy was especially kind to us during our last visit. We will not stay anywhere else in Charlottesville!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twogeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our family recently had to stay in Charlottesville unexpectedly due to our newborn being at UVA Medical Center. After talking with the staff at the English Inn and explaining our circumstances, they greeted us as family! We spent five nights with them and never have we met such nice people at a hotel! They went out of their way to be of assistance to us every day! The rooms were wonderful, the complimentary breakfast delicious, and the staff totally accomodating! Their kindness assisted in relieving some of the stress we were under! Our newborn is home and healthy and we know where we will stay if we visit in Charlottesville again!! A big THANK YOU to Mark, Rika and Debbie B. - we won't forget your kindness!!
Jennie W.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was just in Charlottesville for my first stop on a multi-city trip and spent 5 nights here at the English Inn. It's the only privately owned, independent (i.e., not chain) hotel in town, and is staffed by uber-friendly and helpful people, especially Kathy at the front desk. She met every request with ease and genuine friendliness.
But this morning took the cake. I was supposed to get on a plane for New York and a very important meeting, and woke up to another one of this year's crazy snow/ice storms. My flights were cancelled and I managed to get a seat on Amtrak for the 9 am. But the person driving me to the train could not get his car out of the driveway because it was too icy. I called all the local cab companies but nobody would come out in this kind of weather. Finally Mike, the hotel manager, dropped what he was doing, fired up his 4 wheeler and drove me to the Amtrak station himself, just in time. Unbelievable.
There is no doubt the English Inn will have my business anytime I'm in Charlottesville. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great hotel, cozy lobby with fireplace, tea in the afternoon. Free breakfast was one of the best we've ever had in a hotel. I would suggest nicer paper cups for coffee/tea - the styrofoam ones are too small. People couldn't have been nicer. Little old fashioned but great for the price and so close to University of Virginia and shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was my second stay and both experiences were fantastic. The property is clean, well maintained and well located. There is an excellent breakfast included. The rooms are large and clean. Finally, the staff at the desk was friendly and helpful. This will be my first choice whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing