We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was I invisible or gum on the bottom of the front desk staff's shoe?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Was I invisible or gum on the bottom of the front desk staff's shoe?”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

First of all, stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. It's new and nice and the staff is nice. The bed is comfortable. All the great things I cannot say about the English Inn.

The front desk staff clearly was not happy to have to check people in. My room was very dark and the mattress was not up to my standards- and my standards are simply more comfortable than the floor.

I noticed a lot of military staying here and the staff seemed as disdainful of them. That just breaks my heart. Who better deserves a little deference?

Anyway, the location is convenient, but I would rather drive an hour each day than stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jean8239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    296
    106
    28
    18
See reviews for
399
317
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

After a day-long visit to Montecello, we drove three miles to the English Inn and were greatly impressed. The hotel is clean, quiet and inexpensive. The clerk at the front desk enthusiastically welcomed us to the inn. She even paid us a courtesy call once we got to our room. She also directed us to a delightful nearby Mexican restaurant (El Puerto).

We came back to the room and settled in for an evening of rest. The only drawback was the poor reception on the television. But the important things, the size of the room, the refridgerator, the microwave and the bathroom exceeded our needs.

The next morning, we availed ourselves to the free breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, biscuits, french toast and bacon.

Our total cost, for the night, including all the taxes was only $104!

True, the hotel is not within easy walking distance to downtown or the Rotunda, but several chain and local restaurants (including the aforementioned El Puerto) are very close.

The English Inn is the place to stay in Charlottesville.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service.
  • Disliked — Television reception
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rletra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Though this hotel is an older property, it's upkeep and appearance has kept pace. The common areas are attractive and comfortable. Our guestroom was spacious and appeared to have been recently renovated with new carpet and bedding. Beds comfortable. The bathroom was large and tub/shower conbination . sink (small vanity).....very clean. TV reception was not the best, but watchable and provided many channels. Quiet surroundings, not a full house on our visit. Complimentary breakfast surpasses most hotels that we have stayed in. Great pool and desk attendants pleasant. We walked to one restuarant closeby.....convenient, ok. Located within easy travel to Monticello and other historical sites. We would return.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We lived in Ch'ville for 3 years and had no idea this existed! Sure we saw it when we drove back and forth on the main strip but we never heard a thing about it.

I was looking for a place with suites so my kids could have separate rooms. I called every hotel I could think of and finally the Hampton Inn suggested I call English Inn. The room was perfect! My husband and I had our own room, my daughter had a room and my son slept in the living room on the pull out. We had a small but very functional kitchen, two full baths and THREE TVs! Everything was perfectly clean and seemed newly decorated. And it was so quiet there! The view from our room was even pretty. The staff was nice and helpful. As we laid in bed that night I commented that I couldn't think of one negative. We travel a lot and usually stay in higher end hotels (our last visit we stayed at Keswick - $800/night). English Inn was a steal at $170 total! We did not try the pool or stay for breakfast (we always go to the Tavern when we visit Ch'ville) so I can't comment on that. I will say that we only stayed one night and we were all sad to leave. We will definitely stay at English Inn again - I just wish there were more of them!

  • Liked — The size of the rooms and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank STCinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

After reading all of the great reviews about the English Inn, I began to expect a 5-star hotel! As a result, instead of being pleasantly surprised by what we received for a reasonable price, I was a bit disappointed. Everything was nice, but completely expected.

So, if you are hoping to be pleasantly surprised, don't read too many detailed reviews. Just know that it is an older property that is well maintained, clean, quiet, and has a very nice front desk staff. The free breakfast buffet (while not gourmet) was a nice bonus.

And to me, the most important question of all: Would I stay there again? Yes.

Hope you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MonchiOrlfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My wife and I visited Charlottesville for the first time this summer. The staff at the English Inn made us feel welcome and at home. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and well kept with all the accouterments you will need. The Conservatory off the lobby is a great place to meet with friends, relax and talk over complimentary coffee and tea. We found great restaurants and shopping nearby and after a long day of exploring Charlottesville we enjoyed a refreshing swim in the beautiful indoor pool. I’m sure you will be like us and not want to leave the English Inn.

  • Liked — Quiet but very convient to downtown Charlottesville, the airport and right off the highway
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed for two weekend nights and were pleased with the value($100/night). The English Inn is an older hotel that has been mostly renovated. The carpets, draperies, and common areas were all nice. But the in-room heating and cooling units need to be replaced. Admittedly, the temps outside were in the mid-90s and it's tough for any AC to do much with that, but it could get a bit stuffy in the afternoon. We called the front desk and they were willing to change our rooms or recycle the power in hopes the compressor would kick back on. We opted to stay in our room, and it seemed that recycling the power on the unit did help some.

The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. We didn't require too much assistance, but when we did, we were treated quite well.

The breakfast, which is included, was quite good. They offered eggs, bacon, sausage gravy, cereals, breads, three types of juices, coffee and milk. The dining area was plenty big too. Often the breakfast areas in hotels are cramped leaving folks standing to eat. They offered trays so that you could take breakfast to your room, which I sometimes prefer.

The pool was good size. The depth doesn't exceed 4.5', which is great for kids who just want to splash around. Additionally, it offers a much greater playing area. (During our stay, there was a youth baseball team staying also. They had part of the pool and there was still plenty of room for our two kids to play.)

Finally, the English Inn is really convenient. It's located right next to HWY 29/250, and UVA and the downtown area are under 2 miles away. There are several places to eat nearby the hotel and in the Barracks Road Shopping Center (approximately 1 mile south).

  • Liked — Value and Experience for the money
  • Disliked — Cooling unit and shower are aging
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pathic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing