We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first choice when we go to Charlottesville, VA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our first choice when we go to Charlottesville, VA”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at The English Inn many times over the course of the last few years while our son was a student at UVA. We love it. It is our first choice of hotels when we are looking for a place to stay. The staff is wonderful and attentive. The hotel is very reasonably priced even at peak times (home football games, family weekend, graduation, etc). It is well maintained as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 03Guests2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    295
    105
    28
    18
See reviews for
395
315
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure to conduct the Road Scholar Program as the group leader in this beautiful hotel! When you arrive you immediatly see the charm from the exterior, however the ambience is obvious when you approach the front desk staff. Being a former Flight Attendant and staying in numerous hotels across the country, I am aware of those hotels that offer superb customer service. You will definitely find it at the English Inn! Kathy Brown who I met upon check in was courteous, professional, and had a willingness to make my event successful. Throughout my stay she was always enquiring with me to make sure that I was pleased with room set up, refreshments satisfactory, and to follow through with any other request that I might have. It was a wonderful experience not only for myself, but I'm sure for the participants as well. The afternoon high tea at 4pm was a delight! I would recommend this hotel to any traveler visiting the Charlottesville area, and I hope you have the pleasure to meet Kathy Brown at the front desk!!!!

Room Tip: My room on 2nd floor close to our meeting room was comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savytravler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Inn for a night whiles on a roadtrip and can't fault the Hotel. Old but well kept with a decent breakfast. Nice swimming pool. Ample free car parking as well as free wifi. The staff was friendly and the kids got a free toy on check inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyyourstay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

i had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel for a pre-arranged historic program in the area. i was so delighted that this hotel was the location chosen. the front desk staff was wonderful, and in particular kathy brown. no problem was to big or to difficult to solve. her professionalism as well as customer service was greatly appreciated. if had not been for her pleasant nature, the stay would not have been as enjoyable!!!! the room has wonderful amenities which include refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and plenty of pillows! the room that have king beds are spacious and very comfortable. being at the end of the hallway proved to be quiet and less distracting. our meeting room was always clean and had fresh coffee, tea and water provided throughout our meetings. the decor brings you into the countryside of england where there is a fireplace in lobby and many symbols that relate to english way of life. i had never an issue that wasn't resolved quickly by the person i dealt with most, kathy brown. it is an exceptional hotel that also provides a hot breakfast with much variety. consider this hotel on your next visit to charlottesville!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in Charlottesville numerous times over the years. Recently, our youngest son was married just south of Charlottesville. Family and friends were coming to town. After some research, we decided to take a chance on the English Inn.
We were very fortunate that we did. There were 19 of us. We booked two suites, and the remainder of the party booked regular rooms. The suites were large, and a perfect gathering place to chat and to plan activities. The hot breakfast was great every morning. The breakfast room is large enough that we never had to worry about putting tables together to accomodate our larger numbers.
The staff is outstanding at the English Inn. It is an incredible value for whatever your travels needs are. It's an especially great hotel if you have a family reunion, wedding, or some other larger gathering.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here last summer on a trip to Monticello. The rooms were a bit dated and very plain but were clean and comfortable. The building was very charming and the front desk was friendly and helpful. They have afternoon tea and cookies in the lobby which was nice. The breakfast was decent. The pool was spectacular. It's an extremely large indoor pool. It's probably the best feature. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The English Inn for years. Prior to now, I have never written a review on Trip Advisor. For travellers seeking value, The English Inn offers a clean and pleasant accommodation, in a convenient location to the University of Virginia and Route 29 North, adjacent to a great bagel place, called Bodo's. The price is fair. The staff is accommodating. Kathy, in particular, has been very helpful to us. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You may want to select a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing