We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a 5-star but it's a great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff is always cheerful and the breakfast is much better than the usual complimentary fare offered at most hotels. The hotel is beginning to show its age---a little wear and tear---but is clean nonetheless. The rooms are quiet. Bathrooms have always been clean. Usually a full parking lot, but always a place to park. I stay here whenever I'm in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife had come across The English Inn many years ago when we visited Charlottesville, only to find the chains sold out. A former employee, then working at a chain hotel, recommended we try The English Inn, and we were pleasantly surprised.

We were glad to see that the hotel was as nice as we remember. Nice room, comfortable beds, good service, great staff, the largest indoor pool we have seen, and a very nice breakfast, with quality offerings and more variety than we usually see.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmc11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel was priced much lower than other hotels in the area, so I was a little skeptical, but it had decent reviews on Trip Advisor, which has never let me down. While I would have liked to have found something closer to Downtown Charlottesville, this hotel was a great find because of the price. The rooms were clean and quiet. I never heard noise from other rooms or in the hallways, The desk staff helpful and - finally - there was room to turn around in the breakfast room. I've just been skipping the included breakfasts at most hotels lately because they are generally chaotic and not very good. The breakfast at the English Inn was decent because it was in a space large enough to accommodate a large number of guests. Also, the variety was decent and there was even "dark roast" coffee that was so much better than the coffee that most hotels offer which tastes to me like nothing more than a cup of hot water.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the facilities and the area attractions. Our selection criteria for picking this hotel were location, rating and price. It exceeded on all points. We will definitely return to the English Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the second building. We were unaware that anyone else was staying i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

External look is original, actually looking like an English Inn. But eventually it's rather like an old motel inside. Not bad, but not great either. I'm pretty sure there are better places for the price in Charlottesville. Breakfast was average too.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ptifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been coming to the English Inn for years and have always found it a great place to stay. The staff is friendly and efficient and the rooms are always well kept and comfortable. It also offers a very good, full breakfast as part of your stay. It is in a great location, close to UVA and an easy walk to a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Try staying in the Mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and four of my grandchildren spent a night at The English Inn and we couldn't think of one negative thing to say about it. It looked like Anthony from the TV show "Hotel Impossible" had been there. The bedding was sparkling white, the staff was friendly, and the whole place was clean and inviting. The breakfast was as good as I have ever seen in this price-range hotel. The indoor pool is large. Also, it is within walking distance of several eating establishments.

Room Tip: We didn't do or say anything out of the ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $94 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing