We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been coming to the English Inn for years and have always found it a great place to stay. The staff is friendly and efficient and the rooms are always well kept and comfortable. It also offers a very good, full breakfast as part of your stay. It is in a great location, close to UVA and an easy walk to a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Try staying in the Mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and four of my grandchildren spent a night at The English Inn and we couldn't think of one negative thing to say about it. It looked like Anthony from the TV show "Hotel Impossible" had been there. The bedding was sparkling white, the staff was friendly, and the whole place was clean and inviting. The breakfast was as good as I have ever seen in this price-range hotel. The indoor pool is large. Also, it is within walking distance of several eating establishments.

Room Tip: We didn't do or say anything out of the ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the English Inn while doing a college tour of UVA. The hotel is clean, updated, and very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. We stayed in a suite and it was fantastic!! We arrived during "high tea" which was nice -- coffee/tea cookies, etc. The large heated pool is awesome. There is a free breakfast that is very nice (eggs, bacon, french toast, home fries, etc). The place has a quaint feeling and does not look like your typical cookie-cutter hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was with a large group and the check-in process could not have run more smoothly. The staff was friendly and efficient. The atmosphere in the lobby was really cool & what I would imagine a mediocre inn to be like in England. I enjoyed the hot tea available and the fact that the hotel had a pool. The pool, I was told was new. However, I beg to differ. It is possible that the coat of paint was new or something of that nature...if the pool was new, the hotel needs a full refund.

Ok, to the part you need to know. I will post pictures but viewer discretion is advised. I cannot believe what was waiting for me when I got into my room. Oh my. It was bad. Really bad.

Since I was with a group and the leader would have been heartbroken to have found out about the unpleasantness that awaited me, I decided to tough it out since we were only there one night. I left a comment card with ALL of my contact information but after 4 weeks, I have yet to hear from anyone affiliated with the inn.

Because of the large hairball in the tub, broken-rusted-sink, ceiling problems and broken door, I just HAVE to post about my experience. I would like to go on record saying that 3 others in my group had a different type of nasty to say about their rooms. I will let them post their own review if they so feel compelled.

I am saddened that a place with such potential was quite the disappointment. Two thumbs down for the room.

Two thumbs up to the male staff member who checked us in, I wish I could recall his name. He was fantastic.

Breakfast was weird. I would recommend the bagel shop right outside the inn. Bodo's Bagels, maybe? Oatmeal had hulls in it and was paste-like. The hot tea selection was nice.

Another neat thing about the place was that there were free samples of the no-snore nose strip things at the front desk. I didn't need them but it would have been a nice bonus had I needed them.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in an excellent location. My family of four stayed in a suite in the Mews, so we had ample space with a nice kitchenette. The service from all the staff was wonderful, and the food at breakfast was good. The only negatives would be that the breakfast is served entirely on styrofoam dishware (a pet peeve of mine -- I want coffee in a mug and breakfast on an actual dish, but styrofoam is very unpleasant) and the bathroom showed signs of mildew.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here with my grown daughter and had 2 rooms.
The good to great:
Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful
Breakfast was beyond expectations
Price was decent
Our rooms overlooked a community garden
Close to the UVA campus but relatively quiet
The not-so-good:
Hairdryer in one room didn't work
AC didn't work well in one room

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frauduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently lodged at The English Inn. Our suite was clean and spacious. We were delighted to see a full-sized fridge next to a kitchen sink. The bathroom was also large and provided room to move around. One thing I would like to see is more than one bar of soap. We had to "borrow" the sole soap between the bathroom sink and shower. I would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_SIMPS0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
964 reviews
1.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $90 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing