We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge North(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveler rating
681
352
123
35
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
352
123
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookieshigh tealarge indoor poolcommunity gardenbagel shopbodo's bagelshot breakfastchain hotelsking suitefrench toastmain buildingbreakfast rooma great place to stayconvenient locationoatmealfront desk stafflobby area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here with our grandson, age 8, for two nights. It was a nice quiet atmosphere, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the pool was the best ever. Breakfast is served in an actual dining room and is much more than expected for a "free" breakfast. The cost to stay was very reasonable.
We had two guests for breakfast and were only charged $6. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillpainterMoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed here many times and always enjoy coming back. We were greeted with cookies at our check in, and the lobby was clean and welcoming, as usual. The pool is WONDERFUL! Clean and the perfect temp! The beds are very snuggly. And the breakfast--all you could ever want. Thank you, English Inn, for another enjoyable, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wife & I had to travel to Charlottesville, VA for a wedding. If you've ever been there in June, you know that Charlottesville area hotels can be VERY pricey. Fortunately, we found the English Inn! While it's not a 5-Star upscale hotel, it is quite nice, well-appointed, comfortable, very clean and has virtually anything most normal folks would be looking for -- and at half the price of most other hotels in the area. Family friendly too. Nice pool for kids & adults. We're not much on hotel breakfasts, but this place puts on quite a spread; much better than most hotels that advertise breakfast. Very close to UVA and many nice shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a last-minute booking, and I paid more than I should have. The person in front of me in line paid $70/night for a king room, and I paid over $30/night more. The room was relatively clean with a microwave, coffee machine, and lots of pillows, which was nice. Though there was a microwave and fridge, there was no table in the room on which to eat. The bathroom sink ran only hot water. The air conditioning was extremely loud.
Positives: Free wireless, microwave, coffeemaker, frig. Nice, helpful staff. Great-smelling toiletries. The breakfast was hearty, with lots of choices. The nice man George at the front desk plugged in my IPhone to his charger for me since I had forgotten mine. He also gave me a razor. Relatively big (though indoor) pool. Last minute check-in and cancellation available.
Negatives: Location is definitely not walkable, no cold water in bathroom sink, no table in the room for eating, cannot open windows. Loud air conditioner.
I might stay there again, but I would negotiate ahead for certain features. For $70/night, it would be a real deal.

Room Tip: They have a newer wing. It might be nicer - I did not get a chance to see it. You can quieten the air conditioner a little bit by setting something on top of the part that rattles.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debnc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The English Inn is a wonderful place to stay. We started our vacation in Charlottesville and had a wonderful time. The location is outstanding, easy to get to the arena and our friends house. We stayed busy during the day and wasn't able to make the Tea service or use the pool. Next time! The front desk staff was very helpful and the GM made sure that we had what we needed. Very comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast, large rooms and lots of spots to sit back and relax or have a cup of fresh coffee.

Room Tip: Any room seems good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews