We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Inn of Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just stayed at the English Inn this weekend, and it was a great experience. The staff were friendly and they even upgraded us to one of the nicest rooms I have EVER stayed in. The free buffet-style breakfast was good too. I would definitely stay here again, and I will recommend this place to family and friends. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    276
    103
    28
    18
See reviews for
372
304
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Apparently old world charm includes no bottled water available in the hotel at all. Only one machine even sells it and it is sold out for the duration. They do not offer water as an option in the breakfast either. The rooms look like they should be rented by the hour. At $200 a night, they should at least not smell like urine and be able to latch the door properly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takemyadvice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Used trip advisor to discover this really nice independant hotel in Charlottesville. I called rather than booking on-line and paid $108 for a King bed suite on a Monday night. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was included. Highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pumpkinridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk,va
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice hotel, nothing mind blowing just nice. Did not have any issues with it and it was a good deal. Very close to UVA and not far from downtown. Staff was very nice breakfast ok. Basically the same stuff you get at a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirby105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I highly recommend the English Inn. The rates are very reasonable, considering that it's as convenient and comfortable as a typical nicer chain hotel, but with more character and charm. Overall, it's an excellent value. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable (much like the rooms in an older Hilton - not brand new, but still nice). The location is great, convenient to everything. It's not "walkable" to downtown or UVA, so you'll have to drive, but this isn't a large city so I don't mind that... Also, breakfast was very good, a hot meal with eggs, sauage, biscuits, etc., at no extra charge. I will definitely be coming back to the English Inn!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the main building, on the first floor near the lobby, but were still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found the English Inn by accident as we had no reservations for our stay in Charlottesville and found a lot of hotels sold out due to freshman college week. I can't say enough about the customer service of Front desk clerks Kathy Brown and Ken Bird. I called to see if they had rooms and luckily, they did. Kathy was so helpful from the start, with directions, places to eat and just going above and beyond. We really felt WELCOME! She is a definite asset to that company. I saw her interact with other guests in exactly the same way as she had with us so you knew it was her norm. The hotel was nothing extraordinary by decor, but was very clean, great buffet breakfast, good rates (Omni quoted a price 1.5 times higher than we paid!!). The outstanding thing about this hotel was the service we received from all, but from Ms. Brown , inparticular. She arranged a stay for my family at their sister hotel in Fredericksburg too and was very happy to do so. I have stayed in a lot of properties and have not always had the feeling that we were more than just customers. Hats off to the English Inn and their great staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was so pleased with our stay! The rooms were very clean, the service impeccable, and a wonderful free breakfast: eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, apples, pancakes, french toast, biscuits, plus an assortment of cereals and coffee, tea, milk etc.

The bed was soft, clean and fresh. No dirty bedspreads! Just a clean white comforter, that is freshly laundered, covered mattresses and comfy sheets.

Very civilized and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetMe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.1 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing