We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Charlottesville
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 624 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was pretty much exactly what I'd expect for about $50 a night.

Pros:
CHEAP
Allowed Pets ($10/dog)
Felt Safe (internal doors)

Cons:
HORRIBLE Soundproofing...heard every door open/close over the white noise machine we travel with
Room was tiny and a bit run down feeling


Tip to the hotel....I think you could solve a lot of problems with the noise if you'd put an arm on the door (back of hotel, first floor) that made that close gently. That was the door that banged all night long, and it's fixable.

The noise was really the worst I've ever experienced in a hotel. No obnoxious or rude guests, but I think a tour bus got in around 1am. All the constant noise made our dogs nervous and they barked once (which made me feel awful for disturbing other guests). That was a problem I didn't anticipate and don't normally have. Something to keep in mind if you have a dog with a "guard dog" personality.

I probably will try another budget hotel when I go back to Charlottesville with the dogs, just to see if I can find one with more sound proofing. Other than that though, I considered it a fair experience for the rock bottom price.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a top floor, because you'll also be able to hear every footstep of people ab...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Clean, adequate sized room. Friendly desk staff
Our bed was a bit lumpy, but it didn't stop me from falling asleep.
"dog friendly" but limited area to exercise him.
Thin walls/ceiling, heard guests in floor above us thumping around, heard other guests in hallway as well. Not a bad deal, though.

Room Tip: thin floors, we heard the upstairs guests thumping around
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife, dog and I stayed here on Oct 23 and 24th while visiting Monticello and the area.. The room was very dated and small. I wasn't sure if I really wanted to stay here for two nights, but decided to because there just are not very many pet friendly hotels to choose from. For dog walking, this is NOT a great place, as there is an uprooting tree at the back exit, very easy to trip over. Then all there is, is the parking lot. The room was clean, though they have a desk chair that won't fit with armrests under the desk/table so it was CONSTANTLY really in the traffic lane of the room. Check-out is the main reason for such a low rating. I failed to mention on check-in that we had a dog, nor did they ask if we had a pet. In our travels that week, we stayed at four hotels, all "pet friendly". Three had nominal charges, one free. Two didn't bother charging us at check-out, even when they knew we had a pet staying with us. I mentioned to the lady at check-out that I had a pet and was admonished by her for not mentioning it at check-in. Even though the final statement had already been processed for $115, she insisted that she charge us for $22.06 for the pet charge. This took approximately 15 minutes-no exaggeration- while she, having problems with her computer to FINALLY charge for the pet stay. Simple PR of waiving the $22 charge would have given this hotel a three rating. The lady and I were "snappy" with each other as I left and my wife asked me not to let that upset me the rest of the day. I was fine...until my credit card statement showed separate charges for $115.14 and $22.06. Some people know how to make money...no matter what it costs them in reputation...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
118 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlottesville

Address: 390 Greenbrier Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $58 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Super Eight Charlottesville
Charlottesville Super Eight
Charlottesville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing