We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UVA Hospital Emily Couric Cancer Center appointment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Charlottesville
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    147
    131
    171
See reviews for
193
123
80
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nora
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was standard. The room was clean, the staff was nice, and it is in a decent location. It is a bit outdated and could use some improvements, but if you are on a budget and need something for just a night, this hotel will work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Garfied O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Super 8 overnight while we were there to tour Monticello. While the lady at the front desk was friendly, that is about the only thing nice I can say about the property. The hallway to our room was dank and musty smelling. The room itself smelled like stale urine and beer. There was no evidence of bed bugs, which was a relief. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was badly in need of repair and sounded like we were gleefully participating in the torture-killing of a moose. Because of the lack of an exhaust, the bathroom had humidity damage to the walls and ceiling and a lot of mold/mildew growing. Luckily, the heat/ac unit did work. I know with Super 8 you get what you pay for, but for what we paid I expected better than what we got.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nymph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We planned an overnight trip to Monticello. Since we would be out all day, didn't want to spend a lot on just a place to sleep. We found the manager on duty to be very helpful and pleasant. The room was fine, no funky smells, it was clean, bed was comfortable, tv/cable worked. The stairs did have a strong smoke smell and we could hear every conversation in the rooms as we were in the hallway or outside converstions. However, when in the room, we didn't hear anything from other rooms. Breakfast was reasonable (and free), there was toast, cereal, frozen waffles, yogurt and a few other items. I'm sure someone could nic-pick it to death but overall it was fine. We would stay there again. We aren't looking for frills just a clean, safe room for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyGirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Pillows were terrible, towels were paper thin, used as a party hotel for college aged punks, breakfast was a joke, the shower head was full of green gunk and front desk staff was rude/mean and didn't even say "thank you for staying at our low end piece of junk"! You pay cheap you get cheap. Do yourself a favor and sleep in your car.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlottesville

Property: Super 8 Charlottesville
Address: 390 Greenbrier Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Super 8 Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Super Eight Charlottesville
Charlottesville Super 8
Charlottesville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing