We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“made for a nice overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Charlottesville
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   390 Greenbrier Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“made for a nice overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We planned an overnight trip to Monticello. Since we would be out all day, didn't want to spend a lot on just a place to sleep. We found the manager on duty to be very helpful and pleasant. The room was fine, no funky smells, it was clean, bed was comfortable, tv/cable worked. The stairs did have a strong smoke smell and we could hear every conversation in the rooms as we were in the hallway or outside converstions. However, when in the room, we didn't hear anything from other rooms. Breakfast was reasonable (and free), there was toast, cereal, frozen waffles, yogurt and a few other items. I'm sure someone could nic-pick it to death but overall it was fine. We would stay there again. We aren't looking for frills just a clean, safe room for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyGirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    67
    138
    111
    154
See reviews for
163
115
71
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Pillows were terrible, towels were paper thin, used as a party hotel for college aged punks, breakfast was a joke, the shower head was full of green gunk and front desk staff was rude/mean and didn't even say "thank you for staying at our low end piece of junk"! You pay cheap you get cheap. Do yourself a favor and sleep in your car.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Not much to say. Standard Super 8 Motel in a good location.
No WiFi, no fridge. Good clean beds with a decent breakfast,In the area you can find some nice restaurants and department stores. a bit high price ($70 Inc.Tax.-for seniors). A 1 night motel (no more).

Room Tip: Standard Super 8 Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GadiB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights the poor lady changed my room 3 times and the stink bugs were everywhere.
The blankets had holes in them and the place just has a bad odor. Its obvious the owners dont care or have any pride of there hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 145Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I should have trusted the reviews. They are terrible for a reason. Wen we checked in, there was a couple in front of us in line, and it took approximately 15 minutes for them to be checked in by the only employee working in the hotel (more on this later). Our check in was seamless as we had prepaid for the room. We were given keys to room 103 and upon opening the door, there was a very stale odor in the room. It smelled like very old chemically treated animal urine. I sat on the bed and immediately sank about a foot--ZERO SUPPORT. My girlfriend laughed until she sat on the bed...same thing. I turned on the air conditioning unit (which worked despite the face it was missing half of its buttons), while my girlfriend stepped into the restroom. Se shrieked and I assumed there was a spider...but no, in the midst of several piles of hair clumped in the floor was a USED NEEDLE from a medical syringe. I immediately called the front desk to have someone clean the room and was rudely informed, "we'll I don't know what you want me to do, I'm the only employee here right now." After expressing how unacceptable this was, the employee relented and said she would bring a mop... She came in and expressed that e bathroom was filthy and had a conversation with my girlfriend about how reliable the cleaning crew normally is...but I missed most of the conversation as I was on the phone trying to find another hotel room...which was difficult as Theresa a large concert in town and apparently several weddings. We immediately took our bags back to the car and I returned to the lobby to check out. The employee looked at me and said, "What now?" I expressed that we would not be staying in that hotel and she asked, "why did you make me clean the floor then?" Unbelievable, we ended up about smile away at the Hampton Inn...more expensive but the experience could not have been better. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 34 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 34 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#22 of 34 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 34 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 34 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#20 of 34 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlottesville

Property: Super 8 Charlottesville
Address: 390 Greenbrier Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Charlottesville 1.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Super Eight Charlottesville
Charlottesville Super 8
Charlottesville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing