We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Good; Some Not so Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Charlottesville
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Some Good; Some Not so Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

I was looking for a safe, clean, inexpensive motel. I checked hotel reviews and decided to give Super 8 a try. Here are the good apects of this motel: Seems to be safe, fairly clean, great rate ($50), very nice front desk staff, comfortable bed, breakfast very light with mini donuts, English muffins, coffee, tea, juice avail 6am-9am but I checked out before 6am and it was available. The not so good: noise inside and outside, even though my room was on the back side I heard loud car mufflers on Rt29 well after midnight (large street lots of traffic), conversations in the hall are easily heard in your room, towels are like thin sand paper, don't park on the back side no outside motel lights (or they don't work) just some light from other buildings, heat & a/c provided by a combined window type unit that dosen't work very effectively (I've seen these units in other motels and most work the same; not well) . This motel was about what I expected, it was OK for a night at $50 but probably would not want to stay much longer or pay much more.

  • Liked — Price, Met our needs
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goneagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    159
    140
    185
See reviews for
206
132
86
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lunchlady1958@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Super 8 in Charlottesville looks like one of your typical older, well worn low end hotels and on first glance that's all it is. But our experience was very satisfying. The staff is absolutely wonderful. The nice lady (Jean) at the front desk was warm and welcoming. The housekeeping staff was friendly and attentive. The fresh coffee, juice and light breakfast offered each morning was a nice surprise. We really appreciated the free internet. The property is old, dated and pretty worn out. But it is clean and well maintained and the great staff and wonderful location more than made up for it. If you're looking for 4 stars, don't stay here. This is a good, reaasonably priced, conveniently located hotel. The Cavaliers won and we had an enjoyable weekend getaway.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and Good Location
  • Disliked — Old worn out furnishings
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NBlackmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

I took a chance on this Super 8 after reading mixed reviews and finding a good deal through Orbitz. The location was pretty good, but the problems started right away. First, the entire place smells bad. Upstairs and downstairs there is a funky smell that is not inviting. I requested a smoking room, and as a smoker I have to tell you it was so smelly in there we changed our minds and asked to be moved to a non-smoking room. It was terrbile. Later than night, we came back to the hotel to find the a/c was not working. It was frozen. There were no other rooms available, so we were up half the night turning the a/c on to heat and back to cool so we could actually get some cold air in there. The place didn't appear to be dirty, but it did not look nice. There were holes in our sheets and cigarette burns on the blankets. The price was right, but I'd rather stay somewhere a little nicer next time. It's worth the extra money to skip over this place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The stench
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

Don't go near the Super 8 in Charlottesville Virginia. As non-smokers we booked a non-smoking room and upon arrival found that we'd been booked into a smoking room. The assistant manager was rude and unhelpful and suggested that I should have called and made sure we got a non-smoking room, well why try and save time by booking online when I've got to call and confirm? We were there for a wedding and with the whole town booked up, we had no where else to go. The hall outside the room was dark and dingy, the elevator smelt disgusting. There wasn't even a clock radio in the room and the assistant manager pestered us to return the hotels only iron ASAP. The whole place needs updating, and the "breakfast" they offered was a joke. I've tried since to get some satisfaction from Super 8, and have even called the Corporate Headquarters, but with no luck as they all insist I booked a smoking room, funny thing is my receipt says non-smoking but they don't seem to care. I have to ask why would a non-smoker do that? I get the feeling all they wanted was bodies in beds to fill the place up and make more money. If you want a pleasant stay in the area avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coppertop17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed at many hotels in our lives. This one is the worst. Room smelled of smoke in non smoking room, pillow case ripped, hairs on sheets. We found a cigarette but on the floor. Disgusting!!! We left after 2 hours. They refused to give us our money back.. The hallway down stairs is a treat, beautifully decorated with dirt and smelly garbage. I told them they needed to clean the hallway carpet or tear them out and replace them. STAY AWAY , dont even give it a try. Stayed on March 13 06

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2006

Was in town for an interview at UVA and got this hotel as part of a package deal from Travelocity. It was the cheapest hotel & relatively close to campus, so I thought why not? Well, the non-smoking room I had was on a non-smoking floor and yet the entire floor smelled like a tobacco factory. Towels were dingy and stained. Outlet covers missing from walls. Dirty bed linens. Apparently there is one iron & board for the entire complex, but it had been taken & nobody knew where to find it. The front desk attendant was no help. No hairdryer, no alarm clock. Toilet ran all night.

So, sure, I saved some money, but NOT worth it. Have stayed in Super 8 before & had better luck. Will not stay in one again.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RBM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menard, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2005

We have stayed in many Super 8 Motels over the years and though they are nothing fancy they are usually clean and ok. Not the one in Charlottesville, VA. We stayed there in June and it was terrible. The rooms open into a dark smelly hallway. The room was dingy and gave the appearance that it might not be very clean. If you can find anything else I would avoid this motel.

Helpful?
5 Thank yellowjacket987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlottesville

Property: Super 8 Charlottesville
Address: 390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Super Eight Charlottesville
Charlottesville Super Eight
Charlottesville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing