We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value-Especially For Expensive Charlottesville!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Charlottesville
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Room was clean. Had refrigerator and microwave. Paid average $64 a night with taxes. Hotel staff friendly and informative. Breakfast was minimal but at least a little something to get you out the door-coffee, pastry, donuts, english muffin, juice. Everything was in working order in the room and free wifi and in room coffee. Right off major route so quick access to major highways.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 648 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

A typical Super 8. Not extravagent but perfectly fine for a nights stay. I have found Charlottesville to be relatively expensive as far as hotels/motels go so this fits the bill if you are looking to spend less than $100 a night. Is it as nice as a Hampton Inn, no, but it is fine to just sleep. My husband left his pillow in the room (he always brings his from home) and the front desk manager went out of her way to look for it and eventually found it. She was very helpful. Breakfast wsa just cold milk, but hey, save the money and go out to eat if you want. Would stay there again. Close to UVA and downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livetoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Worst Hotel/Motel stay ever! The people that worked there were very nice and friendly, but that is the only positive thing I can say. The room was dirty, old, nasty, and smelled horrible. The room smelled like mold, mildew, and ashtrays. The bed was very uncomfortable, very thin mattress and a very old mattress. There wasn't even a fitted sheet on the bed, the bottom sheet was a flat sheet that wasn't even tucked in. I have slept on better pull out sofa beds! The walls must be paper thin because I could hear everything else going on around us. We wouldn't even use the shower because we were so grossed out by the whole room. I'm not a picky person and don't require much from a hotel/motel for a one night stay, but this was just awful. Do not stay at this place!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed two nights while traveling up towards New York. A bit worn-out, but clean, comfortable, convenient and friendly. Close to town and campus, easy access in & out of town. Great value if you're looking for comfortable bed, and hot shower and few amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msa163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have stayed at this particular Super 8 many times. We have seen it needing remodeling, then when that came, we were very pleased. The hall carpet still needs replacement, but the rooms look quiet impressive with orange carpet. The mexican restaruant is across the street and it's great to just walk over there. But on this particular day, Sept 16, 2011, we were surprised by one huge problem.......FLEAS!! and more FLEAS !
The motel accepts pets, but we never expected to be attacked by fleas. The clerk politely and efficiently changed our rooms to the second floor, but we had fleas following us. So we killed two or three more and were undisturbed the rest of the night. What got us a bit annoyed is that the clerk said they would use a roach bomb to take care of them. Fine. But why didn't the morning clerk know anything about it? Did she forget to relay the message or simply ignored us?. If you want to take the risk to go there, go ahead, but I'd give the motel a good 6 months to fix the flea problem. If you know anything about fleas, they multiply quickly. And if you want to check that first , this is how you do it. Put on some white socks and walk into the room (leave your luggage outside).........skoot your feet around and sit down and wait. Give it 5 minutes. If there are any fleas you should see them on your socks. It works every time. That night the rate was $77.00............we plan to spend a little more and go to somewhere that doesn't accept pets. At least for 2011.
As for you. Enjoy the town, but room at this motel at your own risk. Remember fleas attack children as well............it's all up to you. If Super 8 reads this, I challenge them to post when they have treated the entire 1st floor. Otherwise, we won't be there again this year. We plan 3 more trips to the town.....

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor for 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salvador G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Passing through for the night we decided to stay here. I was skeptical of staying here becuse of the other reviews on Trip Advisor. I can only speak from my experience here.

From the outside it doesnt look too bad. Looks average. Inside, the lobby is pretty small. There's only one outside entrance. I wouldn't call it "Wheelchair Accessible"
From the inside, including the rooms, it's definitely outdated and smells a bit. Elevators sound somewhat old. Like you could possibly get stuck inside them at some point in the near future. The rooms are small and the beds look a little old as well. I'm afraid to lift the mattress so I won't go there. The sheets also have burn holes from cigarettes in them.

Overall, if you're just passing through I guess its ok. But the price isn't worth it either ($71)
I had a better stay at the Super 8 in Savannah, GA less expensive and the place is brand new.

Save yourself the trouble....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fd123, Manager at Super 8 Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank You for taking the time to post a review! The area around the property is very safe, we are working on improving the outside lighting and overall property. This is a college town and many visitors are staying with us while visiting the University of Virginia and many local attractions. The property has new management and we would like to improve the customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The outside is kind of run down. If you have ever seen "people of walmart" pics, you will see some of those here. The halls have no air and it is hot as hell. They have doused the place with room deodorizer and it is a bit overwhelming. The beds and pillows could be upgraded(esp the bed). Okay, that being said the woman a front desk is very nice, the room is clean,wifi service is great, a good Mexican restaurant across the street as well as a 7/11.
We are here to see Monticello and it is not to far. I might stay here again, if I could not find a better deal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank joanzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fd123, Manager at Super 8 Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank You for posting your review! We are new management and we are working to improve the property and the customer experience. We value your comments and reviews in order for us to make the changes needed. Thanks for telling us about the staff experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
153 reviews
1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlottesville

Address: 390 Greenbrier Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $58 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Super Eight Charlottesville
Charlottesville Super Eight
Charlottesville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing