We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property, but still a Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Older property, but still a Doubletree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms have been updated, so the only way that this hotel actually shows its age is in the layout. The elevators are at one end of the hallway, and if your room happens to be on the other end, you have a looooong walk through the single hall to get to your room. When you check in, specify that you wish to be closer to the elevators if walking is a challenge. The door to our room did not close unless we pulled it really hard, and having to leave some mornings at dawn made me worry that I was waking the other guests. We were given $10 certificates for the breakfast buffet, but that was not worth it for me and one of our kids, so only our 17-year-old son partook, so I cannot comment on what that was like. We were comfortable because it was a Doubletree, but this grande dame is showing her years.

Room Tip: Request a room with a smaller number if you have mobility challenges or just prefer not to have to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZSportyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    368
    231
    116
    52
See reviews for
394
306
76
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at Doubletree-we had a suite on the 6th floor and it was wonderful. TV didn't work, so I called the front desk-they sent engineering up within 5 min!! Tv was fixed and the guy couldn't have been nicer. Had a good salad in the bar area! Would recommend :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lenzylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a great stay! Went out of our way to come here based on previous reviews. After 4 hours of driving the warm cookies were just what my kids needed, and the pool was perfect to stretch out our limbs after such a long drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed 2 nights for a family event. Our room was never cleaned by Housekeeping staff. When we returned at 9:30pm I called about it and a staffperson offered to have someone come at that hour but I declined. Elevators were slow so we took the stairs--we were just one floor off the lobby. Staff were very friendly and polite, but for these prices I expected better service. The room itself was lovely, with a comfortable king bed. Bathroom so small that you had to close the door before sitting on the toilet or there wouldn't be enough room to close it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Deborah,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for your recent family event. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel overall and that our reception team was friendly and polite. Please know that we have reviewed training items with our housekeeping team to ensure that service is not missed again. We will use your feedback about the elevators and guest baths to make improvements during future refreshes. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Good Stuff: The property and common areas (lobby, pool, gym) are nicely kept, and the staff was very helpful and courteous. TJs (the restaurant inside the hotel) served excellent food! We selected this hotel because it was "pet friendly"; lots of green space outside the hotel for pets to run around. Appearances and customer service make up for the fact that the rooms in this hotel are largely outdated.

The Bad Stuff: If you bring a pet you must relinquish a non-refundable pet deposit (pretty standard), but management also forces you stay on the 3rd floor (lobby level). Our room reaked of "pet odor" the moment we walked in, which wasn't even ready when we arrived after 5pm--so we walked our dog for 30 minutes until it was. While I'm sure putting all pets on a single floor consolidates the "pet mess", it makes for a poor experience for 170 dollars a night--particularly for folks with well-behaved/non-neglected pets. You'd almost think you were at an animal shelter if you walk down the hallway with all barking. To top it all off, we were double charged for room service when we checked out. Apparently, the manager on-duty does not have the power to refund my money until Monday...awesome.

Room Tip: Anything other than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammcnei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Ammcnei,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be lovely and that the green space and location of the hotel suited you. Please accept my sincere apologies that the room you were provided did not meet our high standards. The cleaning fee we access for each pet helps us in remediation of the room so we can return it to a flawless condition between guests. I regret that this was not your experience. We are using your comments to monitor that quality of that service and make improvements. We look forward to providing you the experience you should expect upon your return.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed for a pageant event. We was guaranteed check in at 3:00 which that didn’t happen and the staff at the desk was not friendly . Some did not get in their rooms until 5:00 which was unacceptable seeing how we needed to prepare out girls for their first event. Several girls had to go to a friend’s room to get ready. The pool was way too small. And we went to the continental breakfast which I thought was included but was not told that there was a charge until I got the $20 bill for the 2 of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Deanna,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for the pageant. Please accept my apologies that we missed some opportunities to provide you with a flawless experience. We work each day to improve the quality and service that we provide to you and this feedback will help us to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back and improving upon this experience. Please contact me if you would like to follow up on your experiences.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night only after visiting Monticello. Got a great rate through Hotwire and we were fully satisfied. Checked in around 4pm, and were the only people on line. Room was great..at first we were a little hesitant because we were down on the first floor and across from the housekeeping laundry room etc, but the room turned out to be great. Close access to the pool (a little small, but it was fine) and very spacious. We were given a handicap room so it was very large and comfortable. I slept like a baby; the bed was very comfy. We had dinner at TJ's (the hotel restaurant) and it was delicious. They have a garden growing outside the hotel and they source lots of their veggies from that for their food; a nice touch. We were so pleased with this hotel, I really can't think of any negatives. I was hesitant at first when I'd read some of the reviews on here...I'm really not sure what hotel those people were staying at because this place was clean, updated, comfortable and convenient. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
NY4092,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We try to make everyone’s visit memorable by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service, and the best of amenities; and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. I am glad that you loved the room and were able to join us in TJ's Tavern, we hope that you were able to walk through the garden! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
3.5 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. Recently renovated in 2008, the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing