We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“a home away from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

pleasant experience on very short notice. Beds and hotel staff were wonderful and the accomodations very clean . Overall a very quiet hotel with many ammenities and a good location right off the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Janet,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We try to make everyone feel at home away-from home by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service, and the best of amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    387
    237
    119
    54
See reviews for
415
320
81
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Doubletree! We were in town for college visits to U Va. The hotel was quite convenient... out of the "college traffic" but clearly close enough to easily travel to and from. The staff were extremely accommodating. We had requested an upgrade to the executive level. Upon arrival, the hotel was sold out and an upgrade wasn't available. They keyed our room for the club level to accommodate our request with great apology that they couldn't honor our request. The front desk staff were great about dinner recommendations and any help they could provide. The club snacks and breakfast, as well as the staff in the lounge were fantastic. The restaurant and breakfast downstairs were also attentive and tasty. The beds were comfy and the rooms were current and in good repair. We had no complaints... a great stay overall! We'll certainly stay there again if we return to the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osunut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
osunt,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again soon and if there is anything I can do personally to assist with a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and Trip Advisor!
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - DoubleTree Charlottesville
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The beds were amazingly comfortable and helped me fall to sleep quickly at night. I was extremely disappointed in the bathrooms however. There was no bathtub and the shower had no lip so all the water leaked everywhere in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am pleased that you were able to join us for the wedding. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its comfortable amenities. Please know that most of our bathrooms do have tubs, we typically utilize rooms with roll-in showers in the event of limited bed types. Please know that you can request a room with a bathtub upon your return. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Doubletree Charlottesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here recently for a wedding. Lovely hotel with great views of the fall foliage ion Charlottesville. Wonderful event staff. Very friendly front desk staff. Room was very nice and clean. Comfortable bed. Executive level room come with complimentary cocktail reception from 5-8 pm and breakfast in the morning. Also, the executive level is on the 9th floor and has the best views. Only complaint was the housekeeping staff entering our room without knocking when we were getting ready. Overall would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 9th floor (executive level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Brian,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for the wedding. Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. It is a beautiful time of year in Charlottesville and I am glad you were able to take in the foliage. Our team has used your experience as a training opportunity for our housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was our first visit to Charlottesville; we traveled there to attend a wedding. We booked this Hilton using points.We are usually very happy with our stays at Hiltons, but not this time.
I would have given it a "terrible," but the front desk staff was very helpful and professional, as were the 2 waiters we had for breakfast. There was a rowdy group of partiers in the hallway at midnight and when I called the front desk, they immediately sent security up, which was appreciated.
The rooms are very run down. There scratches on the toilet seat (which I double checked to make sure it wasn't dirty). The bifold closet doors were difficult to open and close. The door to the room wouldn't close on its own; we had to make sure to close it (which we didn't realize until we came back, meaning our door was ajar all day long). The general decor was dated and worn.
The bar was crowded one night with convention-goers and it was difficult to get service. One of the bartenders ignored a request to adjust one of the 3 TVs so we could see the score.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylGLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Cheryl,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you were able to join us for the wedding. I am glad that the service you experienced from our reception, servers, and security teams was to the high level that we expect. Please accept my apologies that you did not find your guest room to be to the standards that you expect. We follow all Hilton property improvement plans and will continue to update the property based on your additional recommendations. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

All the personnel were friendly and helpful. My travel mate became ill and we stayed an extra night. Nothing to do with the wonderful meals we had at Doubletree. The roasted chicken and creamy potatoes with succotash aided in recovery!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Nancy,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. I am pleased you were able to stay with us an additional night, and regret that it wasn't under better circumstances. Our team at TJ's tavern takes great pride in the dishes they out and love to hear when they are well received. We look forward to having you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The workers are very nice and it is very well maintained. The pool and hot tub are nice pluses. I did notice that you had to make sure the room door actually shut. It did not close on its own weight and had to be pushed shut.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Eric,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. I am pleased that you enjoyed the salt water pool and hot tub. Thank you for letting us know about your door, maintenance will adjust the tension of the door. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
905 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-8393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. The Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing