We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krausert-Richards Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The beds were amazingly comfortable and helped me fall to sleep quickly at night. I was extremely disappointed in the bathrooms however. There was no bathtub and the shower had no lip so all the water leaked everywhere in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

I am pleased that you were able to join us for the wedding. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its comfortable amenities. Please know that most of our bathrooms do have tubs, we typically utilize rooms with roll-in showers in the event of limited bed types. Please know that you can request a room with a bathtub upon your return. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Doubletree Charlottesville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here recently for a wedding. Lovely hotel with great views of the fall foliage ion Charlottesville. Wonderful event staff. Very friendly front desk staff. Room was very nice and clean. Comfortable bed. Executive level room come with complimentary cocktail reception from 5-8 pm and breakfast in the morning. Also, the executive level is on the 9th floor and has the best views. Only complaint was the housekeeping staff entering our room without knocking when we were getting ready. Overall would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 9th floor (executive level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Brian,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for the wedding. Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. It is a beautiful time of year in Charlottesville and I am glad you were able to take in the foliage. Our team has used your experience as a training opportunity for our housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was our first visit to Charlottesville; we traveled there to attend a wedding. We booked this Hilton using points.We are usually very happy with our stays at Hiltons, but not this time.
I would have given it a "terrible," but the front desk staff was very helpful and professional, as were the 2 waiters we had for breakfast. There was a rowdy group of partiers in the hallway at midnight and when I called the front desk, they immediately sent security up, which was appreciated.
The rooms are very run down. There scratches on the toilet seat (which I double checked to make sure it wasn't dirty). The bifold closet doors were difficult to open and close. The door to the room wouldn't close on its own; we had to make sure to close it (which we didn't realize until we came back, meaning our door was ajar all day long). The general decor was dated and worn.
The bar was crowded one night with convention-goers and it was difficult to get service. One of the bartenders ignored a request to adjust one of the 3 TVs so we could see the score.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylGLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Cheryl,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you were able to join us for the wedding. I am glad that the service you experienced from our reception, servers, and security teams was to the high level that we expect. Please accept my apologies that you did not find your guest room to be to the standards that you expect. We follow all Hilton property improvement plans and will continue to update the property based on your additional recommendations. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

All the personnel were friendly and helpful. My travel mate became ill and we stayed an extra night. Nothing to do with the wonderful meals we had at Doubletree. The roasted chicken and creamy potatoes with succotash aided in recovery!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Nancy,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. I am pleased you were able to stay with us an additional night, and regret that it wasn't under better circumstances. Our team at TJ's tavern takes great pride in the dishes they out and love to hear when they are well received. We look forward to having you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The workers are very nice and it is very well maintained. The pool and hot tub are nice pluses. I did notice that you had to make sure the room door actually shut. It did not close on its own weight and had to be pushed shut.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Eric,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. I am pleased that you enjoyed the salt water pool and hot tub. Thank you for letting us know about your door, maintenance will adjust the tension of the door. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I would have given this location all 10's but the internet signal seemed to stop and start and they cut me off the day of checkout. People need it most then to confirm airline reservations. When the front desk was called their answer was " I can't help you, you can go to Mac Donald or use the business center." The business center had a line of people waiting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Allen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay overall and sincerely regret that the internet put a damper on your visit. I can appreciate how vital internet access is to arranging airline boarding information as well as getting work done. We will be looking into solutions for guests who have already checked out of their rooms, thank you for bringing the intermittent service to our attention. We hope that you have a chance to join us again soon. Please be sure to reach out me if you need any assistance with upcoming reservations
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The setting and appearance of the hotel and lobby led me to expect that the mattresses would be good quality. Everything was up-to-date and clean, service friendly, too. But the mattresses were mushy without providing support, like kids had jumped on them far too often. Other family members were renting other rooms, and one sister-in-law claimed she had never slept in a worst bed. Yet another ended up resorting to sleeping on the floor because the mattress was so bad. Since we were there for 4 nights, I told the front desk, and they let me check out another room - but the mattresses there were just as worn out. I say cookies upon check-in are nice and so are all the other amenities - but a good night's sleep depends on decent mattresses. These need to be replaced!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnschey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Shawschey,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to provide the highest quality service and amenities and your feedback is an invaluable tool for us to continue improving. I am pleased that the cleanliness, service, location, décor, and other distinctive amenities were to the high level that we expect. I understand that sleep is a very individual experience and regret that we did not meet your expectations with our bedding. Our team reviews all guest comments so we can take opportunities to improve. I hope that you allow us a chance to welcome you back again. Please reach out to me directly when you do so I can ensure you have the rejuvenating sleep that you deserve.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#7 of 37 in Charlottesville
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 37 in Charlottesville
1,896 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 37 in Charlottesville
812 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 37 in Charlottesville
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Address: 990 Hilton Heights Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-8393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $116 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. The Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing