We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Charlottesville last weekend for my daughter's wedding at a local vineyard. Our friends and family used over fifty rooms. During the week preceding the wedding weekend, I had a lot of changes and requests. Steve, the manager, responded to each request with a "No problem" or "Done!" He was able to move room assignments so that family members were close together, and he managed to book me and my husband into a lovely suite on the eighth floor. It was the perfect gathering place for everyone on the rainy weekend; it was nice to have people visit without having them sitting on the beds. Steve never made me feel as if I was pestering him, even though it was a UVA game weekend, so the hotel was fully booked. Steve and the rest of the staff were always friendly and professional, the rooms were spotless, and the restaurant and other gathering spots were spacious perfect for catching up with family and friends. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The higher floors have lovely views of the trees and the gazebo and garden below. Our room even had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Florence,
I am so pleased that you and your family were able to join us for such a special occasion. Congratulations to your daughter! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We will be sure to recognize Steven for the assistance that he provided you during your planning time. We truly believe that service should be provided with one purpose in mind, to create memorable moments for you and the ones you love. We can’t wait to welcome you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    387
    237
    119
    54
See reviews for
415
320
81
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nevada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recent stay (Sept 7-8 '13) at Doubletree Charlottesville was among most disappointing Hilton stays, ever. I am Hilton Honors Diamond, made reservation months in advance, spoke with property staff prior to visit, typical communication. What room type, quiet location, executive/top floor, blah blah. I chose this hotel because the college football team I follow was staying here also, brings a large group, generally indicating top service and accomodations in whatever college town we are staying. The per night price, $400+, would also generally indicate above average accomodations. Wrong. At check in, snide clerk, not helpful on explaining lack of typical Honor Gold/Diamond perks, blamed chaos on being sold out, etc. The room, #332, is a disaster. General Manager laughed when telling me I was a weekend too early, that the beat to death furnishings, bed etc. were all to replaced following Monday. Shabby crappy doesn't quite get it. This "suite" should never be rented for actually sleeping in. It has a large meeting/conference area, which is fine, but it and the bedroom are just next to the only HUGE air intake fans for the entire complex. If you can think locomotive engine sounds running through and vibrating your room, you get the picture. Never stay here, never stay in this room.

Room Tip: Plenty of great choices in this gorgeous Jeffersonian area, stay close to downtown/Univ of Virginia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. I would like to truly apologize for the opportunities we missed to take care of you during your stay. The service you experienced was not a reflection of typical interactions. The suite you were given has been refurnished, and I regret that it was not updated in time for your visit. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, clean and they have all the amenities. The front desk staff was great. However, the first day I made a request to housekeeping (they have little cards that say if you need something just call) well I called for extra coffee and soap. 3 hours later no on had shown up. Additionally, our room was not cleaned for 3 days until I called and complained. Initially I called housekeeping (twice) and got vm. I left a message. Hours passed, still no one came. So finally I called the front desk. Then they sent someone to tidy up (remove dirty towels, empty trash, etc) This was a major annoyance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Kelly,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed all of the lovely amenities that we have to offer. Please accept my apologies that we missed some opportunities to assist you. Please know that we will address the comments you shared with our housekeeping team to ensure prompt response to all requests. Unless you had requested not to be disturbed we clean rooms every day and we will investigate the oversight. I certainly hope that you have a chance to join us again so we can provide the great service at each opportunity.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

good location, the pub-restaurant could be better. nice rooms quite and tidy. One and half deriving from Richmond Airport. fast check in and check out. very close to a nice and quite area with trees and squarrels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Alessandro,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input to improve. Our future guests find it invaluable when selecting a place to stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your room as well as the hotel and that you had a chance to explore the wooded area we are situated by. Please reach out to me directly with any additional feedback about your experience in TJ's Tavern so that we have a chance to address that with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

wonderful for pets and people alike we had a wonderful stay and also enjoyed bar and restaurant the rooms were clean and the service very good. we would stay here again and will for more Doubletree Inns again that are pet friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank gg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
GG60,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. I am glad that you were able to join us with your four legged family member. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I understand the hotel was full BUT....our particular experience was TERRIBLE. I booked 2 rooms through your 800 #. We were given 2 handicap accessible rooms which obviously had not been serviced for quite some time. The shower did not work without excessive force in 1 of the rooms and those inhabitants could not take a shower, also the handle inside the bathroom did not work.....it fell off in the persons hands when they tried to exit the room. My room obviously had not been thoroughly cleaned in months. The curtains were filthy, there were spiders and spider webs in the room, the bathroom floors and baseboards had not been cleaned in months. I called the front desk to ask for another set of rooms and all they could tell me was that they would send a maid to clean. I said " are you serious ? " It was 11 pm as we had not checked in until 10 PM. We did not feel comfortable having a maid clean the room at that late hour. Seemed to us the rooms should have been clean and in good repair before our check in. The lobby was very nice, clean and well appointed and the breakfast supplied in our package was very good BUT the overall quality of our experience was TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank ukrainian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Ukranian,
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.com. We have the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. We take hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously. As a result, Hilton has established very strict standards for cleanliness for all of their hotels. Please accept my sincere apologies that the cleanliness and maintenance of your room was not to the high standards that we expect. I have communicated your valuable comments with our team and; rest assured, these will be used as training opportunity to ensure it never occurs again. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Food was awesome and event planning with Ms. Sam Giles so easy and all was great and fun. We will be back and plan more stays and events at this Double Tree!! Thank you all! The food here is tops!!The staff very kind and helpful , Pool area is great and everyone was so helpful making the surprise 83rd birthday. Thanks for helping make it all happen!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Molly B,
Congratulations on planning a successful and memorable birthday bash! We are so pleased that you shared you special family event with us. I am glad that the food and service you experienced was to the high standard that we expect and I am overjoyed that you will be back with us again. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,742 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-8393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. The Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing