We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strictly Average Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Strictly Average Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited Monticello and booked two nights at this hotel. The rate we paid was higher than other rates yet we were informed it did not include the complimentary breakfast. One of the double beds in our room was supported on one side by a large block of wood as the frame was broken. I informed the desk and was told that they would inform maintenance! Normally I enjoy these properties but on this trip no effort was made to make the stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Be careful using the parking lot. There is a Sam's Club gas station on the same access road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    365
    230
    115
    50
See reviews for
388
300
75
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I am a gold hilton honors member. I have over 450,000 points so I have
stayed in many Hilton Hotels. After being out all day sight seeing we returned to our room at night to dirty dishes from breakfast still on coffee table. The bed was unmade and bathroom had towels from morning showers all over the floor. Wastebaskets full and no toilet paper. My daughter and I were so tired and ready to jump in bed and go to sleep. Forget that.bi called the nite manager, who was nasty because I was upset and said "this is inexcusable". Her response was do you want someone to clean the room and I shouldn't raise my voice at her. Now I know I am the customer and I am paying a pretty penny to stay here, I should be treated with the attitude that the customer is always right. Let me comp the room for that night. I had to suggest that and she was quite indignant to boot. This nite manager Revina Lawrence needs to deal with her customers as how can I make this up to you not patronizing. PS we didn't have the room cleaned until 10:43pm by a very sweet and apologetic nite housekeeper, much much more than the nite manager. I think they should switch roles. A very dissatisfied customer.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very Good Hotel and location however the restaurnat was closed and we had to eat in the bar area. The food was excellent and I highly recommend the chef. Waiters were excellent and hotel staff professional. I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bob050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto De Caza, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family stayed here for one night to visit Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. The beds were very comfortable and the entire room was extremely clean and spacious. We had a 2 queen bedroom. The lobby had complimentary coffee and at check in we were offered cookies. We did use the fitness room and pool and were very pleased at that as well. We will be looking to stay at Double Tree Hotel's in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very good location, just a short ride from downtown and sites and away from the crowds/traffic. Staff at desk, concierge, and breakfast area a big plus. Room care could have been a bit better but overall a terrific stay. Would stay here again without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank hemlockforest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was very cozy and very pet friendly. Our dog just loved all the attention. They even offered a dog bed if he needed it. The staff was great and the bartenders were very good. We didn't get to the pool, but it looked clean and comfortable. The location isn't the greatest, but we actually for got a few things so it was convenient to have a Walmart right there.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be popular for large groups and maybe weddings so rooms on higher floors may be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My kids and I enjoyed our stay at the DoubleTree. Though it's not the most convenient hotel in Charlottesville, it is very nice, and I received a very good corporate rate. No problems, breakfast was very good, and it's a much nicer than average hotel. I recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. Recently renovated in 2008, the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing