We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Decent”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel itself is obviously an older building, but it seems to have been recently refurbished. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, however the walls between the rooms are paper thin. I could hear the neighbors tv and conversations clearly, even with my own tv on. The other problem, that others have already mentioned here, is the bathtub/shower faucet. It is very difficult to operate, you have to pull the temperature selector out toward you, it is awkward and pretty hard to pull. I had to use both hands. Finally do not bother going to TJ's, the restaurant/bar in the hotel, the service was abismal, and food was mediocre. I placed and order and after 15 minutes inquired with the waitress about when it would be coming out and her response was 'oh I forgot to put it in'. Overal its not a bad place for a quick one or two night stay, but not any longer than that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with no neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviewndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    387
    237
    119
    54
See reviews for
415
320
81
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice property. Stayed overnight on business as well as utilized two meeting rooms for the day. The Food and Beverage staff were fantastic. The Banquet Manager Nathan was so attentive and made the day fantastic. Anessa and Dominique, F&B staff members were very hospitable and handled our day of changing needs with grace and class. Our project was a success with the help of this incredible team.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed in several Doubletrees before but this was an especially excellent stay. As a Hilton Gold I was upgraded to the executive floor and found the executive lounge to be well stocked with beverages around the clock. The morning breakfast and evening receptions were very nice and the staff service in the lounge was impeccable. The indoor pool and workout area were clean and well maintained. The grounds of the property were well kept and the staff were trained to treat all guests with courtesy and respect. I found this to be an outstanding hotel and felt very modern with the renovations that have been going on around the property. I would definitely return here if given the chance when I am back in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business. Friendly service and clean, quiet rooms, had a glitch at check in which was taken care of quickly. The hotel is not really in Charlottesville; it is a few miles away so unless you are athletic you will need a car or ride to get to town. Close to the airport which is convenient. The weather was terrible the night I stayed so dinner was relegated to the hotel bar, which was good with reasonably priced drinks. Nice stay overall, would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stay here every time I am in Charlottesville (aprox 1 to 2 times/month). This is as good as it gets especially for the price. Great and responsive staff, well maintained, clean and comfortable rooms. Restaurant has excellent choices and the service there is excellent. Internet was quick and easy to acess. The warm cookies upon check-in are not bad either.

Room Tip: If you can manage a room on the concierge floor, do it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the last several years so much so that it is my favorite while in Charlottesville on business. The renovations markedly improve the hotel's appearance. The breakfast especially is a standout. The room is well maintained, and the internet operated flawlessly. I will be staying here again. Oh Yeah, the cookies rock too!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent five days here at Christmas. Lobby was decorated nicely. Our room was on an upper floor with a great view. Excellent service from staff. They gave us a microwave and a fridge with no extra charge. Room was large and had a nice desk and a sofa. Good TV. Bathroom was nice but a little small. Very clean. Best tasting room service I have ever had. Nice pool and fitness center. Conveniently located. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
905 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
197 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Address: 990 Hilton Heights Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-8393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. The Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing