We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, elegant, well-located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
HOUSTON, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely, elegant, well-located Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2006

We just left this Hotel a few days ago. We were extremely pleased with everything. We stayed in a 2 bed suite. The manager placed us in the exact location that we had requested - Away from noise. We hardly knew there was anyone else on our floor. The room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and everything was in proper working order. As others have already said, there is some street noise - but nothing that kept us awake at night. The location is excellent - by the University and near the Historic downtown district. We had a 3 night stay and were able to rest comfortably at night. The only drawback is that this hotel is expensive, but you get what you pay for. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    193
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
273
168
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2006

I spent just one night here while attending a wedding at the UVA chapel. I wish I could have stayed here longer. The regular rooms are nothing fancy but boy are they clean and comfortable. I slept like a rock and had a great breakfast in the lobby. Best of all checkout time was not until noon so I did not have to rush to get out of there.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FRANKIE569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

The hotel is nice, clean, and a great location.. but service is very poor. We had two rooms. Both parties requested wake up calls when we checked in and neither of us got one, so we were both late getting going. My wife tried to use the hair dryer and it was broken. I am a Hilton Honors member but got no paper. At check out I asked for a "comment card" and was told they dont have any! No wonder! Too bad such a nice place with such poor service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Big Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2006

March 17-19
DH and I decided to take a long weekend and visit Monticello and downtown Charlottesville area. All other hotels in the immediate area of the university/downtown were booked. I kept checking online and was lucky to book this room the day before we left. Our AAA rate was $130. We arrived at 8:30 pm. exhausted and were greeted by a wonderful surprise: the hotel was beautiful, very clean. Loved the fireplace in the lobby. In the lobby there is also a computer with internet for guest use. Plenty of parking. Our King room was clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge. I think this was an accessible room. We did not hear any noises, very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful, on Sunday they offered hot scrambled eggs. We had no problem getting a table for breakfast. In the afternoon they put out fresh baked cookies. They offer hot beverages in the breakfast area all the time and the "sweet shop" had free magazines available. Pizza shop and chinese restaurant are across the street, very convenient. Location is very convenient, about two blocks down from the University, we walked over to the Rotunda to tour. also visited other shops and restaurants near the university.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maryland990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2006

I had driven for 33 hours straight when I pulled into the driveway at this Hampton Inn (just as it began snowing), so I was delighted to find a lovely hotel with great, quiet rooms and comfortable beds. I slept very well...

The location is very close to the university. The only hotel that has a better location is the Red Roof Inn. I stayed there on a subsequent stay -- it was terrible.

If you need to stay close to UVA, this Hampton Inn is the place where you want to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2000, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dcdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

Just spent the nights of 10/9 & 10/10 at this Hampton Inn. Pros: excellent location. The property is within 2-3 blocks of UVA and many pleasant local restaurants are within easy walking distance. Cons: noise & small breakfast area. Rooms at the front of the property (our room) face Main Street; a two lane "main drag" from downtown to the campus. Emergency vehicles traveling to the university hospital pass by frequently as do fire engines on their way to the campus. (false alarms in the dorms??). The breakfast area has only 8 tables and they are uncomfortably packed together. To compound the problem there is insufficient space between the tables and the serving areas. Oddly, the property has a very spacious lobby area with many chairs and sofa. Unfortunately, only one seating arrangement in that area is sutiable for eating; a small table for two by one of the windows. The other seating areas are fine if one has only a beverage, but would not be adequate if one has a plate. Either the table is to the side of the chairs or it is much lower than the chairs (think small, low coffee table). While we were staying a tour bus delivered a group. When those folks all hit the breakfast area at one time, most other patrons gave up or took plates back up to their rooms.

During the past 12 months I've stayed at Hampton Inns in California, Tennessee and Arizona. I'd rate this one as "middle of the pack". Others have commented on the breakfast as being a "cut above" the ordinary Hampton Inn. It is the same breakfast as we've had at above mentioned properties. My impression is that the "two hot items" are standard at all the properties.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Accounting Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2005

The location was perfect for our overnight stay to see the sights of Charlottesville. It is a little over a half mile walk to the historic downtown area and about the same distance to the Rotunda of the University of Virginia. The staff was courteous and the service was prompt. We had a king suite which was spacious and clean. The kitchen included a full size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and range. There were no pay per view movies but there was a VCR. The complimentary breakfast buffet was adequate with scrambled egg patties, sausage, biscuits, fresh fruit salad and pastries.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing