We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
collingswood new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. Was immediately welcomed on arrival. Free parking, breakfast and wifi at a good nightly rate. Spacious room. Within walking distance to several restaurants and bars. We liked 3Penny. Short drive to Monticello. We had a very nice stay at this Hampton Inn and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We faced the street and heard none of the construction going on next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    207
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
299
181
51
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

It baffles me the way rooms are assigned in a hotel. Our reservations were made over a month in advance with the request that our rooms be grouped together. Instead two of us were at opposite ends of one floor and the other two rooms were on a different floor. On a positive note, we were there to attend a concert on the Downtown Mall. Keith, the shuttle driver was most helpful to take us to the concert and pick us up afterward so that we did not have to find parking in an unfamiliar and probably crowded location near the amphitheater. That was an unexpected treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was in a great location. Easy walking distance between UVA and historic Charlottesville. We loved the staff. So friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Queen suite with Kitchen. It was a great room! So much room. It was perfect for our family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank susanlD4965MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The people who work there were very friendly and anxious to serve-- from the people at the desk, the manager, food service, and housekeeping staff. The hotel is convenient to the university and offers transportation to city restaurants. If we return to the area, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel is walking distance from a lot of great restaurants, and a quick drive to University of Virginia campus and historic sites, including Monticello, Ash Lawn-Highland, and not too far from Montpelier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The entire staff are very friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The lobby is lovely and very welcoming. The room and breakfast are excellent, and the location is very convenient to all of Charlottesville and the historic sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was treated great by the staff from beginning to end. The room was nice, and the bed was excellent. It is a little more than what I am used to spending in Virginia, but other than that the internet and parking were included. The breakfast included an omelette with sides. More importantly the coffee was available morning and night. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayB1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,743 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
719 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing