We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here on points because we are Hampton Gold members.

Pros: great location within walking distance to numerous restaurants. We got upgraded to a suite and it was great. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast area was large and the offerings were standard. Clean and updated rooms.

Cons: parking is tight and the construction next door is distracting.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    201
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
288
175
50
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
STEVENSON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Charlottesville, VA Hampton Inn and Suites was a great spot to land after a busy day. The staff took the needed time to check us in and resolve the problem with the entry into the room before we could "whine" about the issue. The upgrade was more than we could have expected. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank GARY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Surprisingly adequate hotel in great location to UVA campus, The Corner and Downtown area. The rooms are pretty standard but clean. Nice lobby and complimentary breakfast. No problem with parking, friendly staff. Good value overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We needed to check in early, but no rooms were available. One of our daughters needed a quiet place to do her homework while we took my other daughter on a college tour. The manager gave her a key to the business center and called the staff to clean our room next. He went to the business center and gave her a key to the room when it was ready. She was safe and all settled in when we returned from the tour. The room was very clean and the breakfast quick and good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotessville, Va, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had a hospital rate, very reasonable. Everything about the hotel and staff was exceptional. Shuttle very good. Location to UVA, historic downtown, shopping, hospital could,t be better. Recommend to any type group.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This Hampton could not be in a better location. Within easy walking distance to many restaurants and the UVA campus. The hotel itself was very clean, inside and out, including our room. We were in a two room king suite, and we were impressed with it's size and the quality of the furnishings. You can tell that the owners/manager take pride in their hotel. Check-in was a breeze, and there is plenty of parking. All the employees we came in contact with were very nice. We only stayed for one night, but did enjoy the breakfast they offer. Typical Hampton Inn fare, but it's edible and it couldn't be any more convenient. They had fresh fruit, waffles you make yourself, eggs, sausage, cereal, juices, coffee, etc...

Our only disappointment was the quality of our mattress. We both tossed and turned and really couldn't get comfortable. Oh, and the shower water pressure was absolutely atrocious. Borderline criminal how weak the water pressure was. Sure, they give you a multi-option shower head, but little use that is with no water pressure. And no, it wasn't because I was showering when many others were as well. I'm a very early riser, and we have also noticed this same issue in several other Hampton's. It's become such an issue with us, that we may need to seek out other hotels in search of real water pressure. If they think they're saving money, they're not. We just take much longer showers. It's necessary in order to get all the shampoo and soap off.

Overall, a very nice stay in a very nice hotel. They just need a mattress upgrade and more water pressure. No more water restrictors!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBa6864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great Place To Stay.Hospitality,Friendly,Treated Like King And Queen,My Husband and I.Would Definately Stay At HAMPTON Again If Needed. We Loved The Stay And Reccomend The Hampton Highly To AnyOne Who Would Need To Stay At A Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing