We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton Inn at Charlottesville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Creek, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Hampton Inn at Charlottesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. Due to a medical issue with my wife, we have stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past year. The staff always welcome us by name when we arrive and go out of their way to make us feel welcome. This is an excellent group of people and the stay is always pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    193
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
273
168
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Union
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Staff always friendly and smiling. Clean and comfortable rooms and lobby. Near the hospital where my son goes. They also have shuttle service which is great. We stay here every time need to go see doctors. Feel like family when enter for check in. Staff gets to know you which makes a person feel special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location and hotel was clean and well kept up. Beds were comfortable. However, the room and air system were somewhat dated. We were surprised at the average layout of the room based on the cost. Our room had poor sound insulation and we could hear sounds in the hall and in neighboring rooms. I would probably look elsewhere the next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a wonderful Hampton Inn and the location is an easy walk to the Rotunda at UVA in one direction, the historic downtown in another and even the hospital is walkable. The service is excellent including the front desk, the breakfast attendants and the cleaning staff. We actually had two stays within a week due to an out of town family reunion, so we experienced two different rooms and locations. Each time we had a room with a king size bed and it was very clean and comfortable including the mattress. I preferred the room on the front of the building facing Main Street because the window was larger and noise was never a problem. There is construction on the lot next to the hotel going toward the downtown area, but we never heard any significant noise in either room. The only noise problem was from the heating and cooling unit when it turned on and off during the night. We solved the problem by heating up the room before going to sleep and then turning the unit off.

Plan early during the football season because they book up fast on those weekends. There is also a free shuttle to the downtown area and it is a nice service that we tried the first night. Then we realized that it was walkable in about a half hour. We enjoyed the historic downtown and found interesting restaurants there. The breakfast at the hotel has a lot of variety, but it was not our favorite part of the stay. It is not oriented toward natural foods enthusiasts, but instead has mostly processed foods in the standard American diet. The scrambled and boiled eggs were the most disappointing.

The two considerations that kept me from giving this hotel five stars was the heating and cooling unit and the processed breakfast. However, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. It is an excellent choice in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank co_rich_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to Charlottesville to visit Monticello and Montpelier. The Hotel was located about 15 minutes from Monticello and 20 minutes from Montpelier. It is within walking distance of the pedestrian mall (although there is a shuttle that will bring you there if desired). There is a complimentary hot breakfast that was decent and coffee was available 24 hours. They also had a popcorn machine in the lobby in the afternoon which I thought was a nice touch. The rooms were a nice size, clean and comfortable. I would stay here again if we returned to the area. Our room did face a construction site but we were not disturbed by any noise from the site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank LeeandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
642 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hampton Inn and Suites and it proved to be a great option in Charlottesville. I had booked a two room suite with a fireplace so can't comment on the standard rooms. Our suite was great, spacious, traditional and luxurious with a very comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom. It was kitted out with basic crockery and cutlery and it would be very easy to stay in this accommodation for an extended visit. The staff were very friendly and the free shuttle service was excellent being punctual with courteous drivers and generally, a great facility. There was some external street noise from the room as we faced the main road but this was not problematic.
The breakfasts were very good and set us up for the day. The hotel is within a ten minutes walk of the Mall where there are some good restaurants and bars. One night we dined at Bella's which is a five minutes walk from the hotel. Not the greatest food on the planet but very acceptable and served in large quantities if that is what you are looking for.
If I was returning to Charlottesville I would head straight for the Hampton Inn and Suites.
All in all, a great stay and the hotel well deserves its position on Tripadvisor!

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and go for a suite with separate living room and fireplace. Very cosy on a chilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed one night here on the 21st of October 2013. I have stayed here about 3 times before. The hotel is very nice. Its a classic Hampton Inn, but the staff here goes above and beyond the call. The Breakfast is great, the biscuits wonderful, and the breakfast attendants are very kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing