We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale and comfortable hotel in an excellent location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Upscale and comfortable hotel in an excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a wonderful Hampton Inn and the location is an easy walk to the Rotunda at UVA in one direction, the historic downtown in another and even the hospital is walkable. The service is excellent including the front desk, the breakfast attendants and the cleaning staff. We actually had two stays within a week due to an out of town family reunion, so we experienced two different rooms and locations. Each time we had a room with a king size bed and it was very clean and comfortable including the mattress. I preferred the room on the front of the building facing Main Street because the window was larger and noise was never a problem. There is construction on the lot next to the hotel going toward the downtown area, but we never heard any significant noise in either room. The only noise problem was from the heating and cooling unit when it turned on and off during the night. We solved the problem by heating up the room before going to sleep and then turning the unit off.

Plan early during the football season because they book up fast on those weekends. There is also a free shuttle to the downtown area and it is a nice service that we tried the first night. Then we realized that it was walkable in about a half hour. We enjoyed the historic downtown and found interesting restaurants there. The breakfast at the hotel has a lot of variety, but it was not our favorite part of the stay. It is not oriented toward natural foods enthusiasts, but instead has mostly processed foods in the standard American diet. The scrambled and boiled eggs were the most disappointing.

The two considerations that kept me from giving this hotel five stars was the heating and cooling unit and the processed breakfast. However, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. It is an excellent choice in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank co_rich_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    188
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
261
167
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to Charlottesville to visit Monticello and Montpelier. The Hotel was located about 15 minutes from Monticello and 20 minutes from Montpelier. It is within walking distance of the pedestrian mall (although there is a shuttle that will bring you there if desired). There is a complimentary hot breakfast that was decent and coffee was available 24 hours. They also had a popcorn machine in the lobby in the afternoon which I thought was a nice touch. The rooms were a nice size, clean and comfortable. I would stay here again if we returned to the area. Our room did face a construction site but we were not disturbed by any noise from the site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank LeeandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
637 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hampton Inn and Suites and it proved to be a great option in Charlottesville. I had booked a two room suite with a fireplace so can't comment on the standard rooms. Our suite was great, spacious, traditional and luxurious with a very comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom. It was kitted out with basic crockery and cutlery and it would be very easy to stay in this accommodation for an extended visit. The staff were very friendly and the free shuttle service was excellent being punctual with courteous drivers and generally, a great facility. There was some external street noise from the room as we faced the main road but this was not problematic.
The breakfasts were very good and set us up for the day. The hotel is within a ten minutes walk of the Mall where there are some good restaurants and bars. One night we dined at Bella's which is a five minutes walk from the hotel. Not the greatest food on the planet but very acceptable and served in large quantities if that is what you are looking for.
If I was returning to Charlottesville I would head straight for the Hampton Inn and Suites.
All in all, a great stay and the hotel well deserves its position on Tripadvisor!

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and go for a suite with separate living room and fireplace. Very cosy on a chilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed one night here on the 21st of October 2013. I have stayed here about 3 times before. The hotel is very nice. Its a classic Hampton Inn, but the staff here goes above and beyond the call. The Breakfast is great, the biscuits wonderful, and the breakfast attendants are very kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. We were upgraded to a suite. Wonderful. After a rainy day at Monticello, my favorite jeans were hung in the closet to dry. As it is not my habit to place anything in the closet, I accidentally left them there. Unpacking, several days later at home, I realized what happened and phoned the hotel. Housekeeping supervisor, Lois Ragland, returned my call, but the jeans had not been located. A week or so later, she called to say they had been found! I received them today by priority mail and could not be happier. Thank you, Lois Ragland, for a job well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisePuzzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and found it very nice to have been on the road all day and chose to stay at the Hampton Inn. The best surprise was there were rooms available with no reservation and the staff was very helpful in providing us a room. The staff could tell that we were very tired and processed our request quickly and gave us the room we requested. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I really enjoyed the staff here.The front desk, housekeeping and others were really friendly. I am a HHonors member and its always nice when they recognize that status and give you snacks and water. The location is great-close to walkable restaurants and shopping and bars.They also offer a complimentary shuttle to the downtown area for food and shopping as well as the airport. Much better than a taxi which can cost up to $35.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing