We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graduate Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
200 South Street Inn(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excel Inn & Suites(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveler rating
515
221
51
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
221
51
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmedical centerfree shuttleshuttle serviceamtrak stationdowntown mallwithin walking distancemain stminute walkfree breakfastnice lobbyvisiting uvahotel shuttlefull kitchenthe breakfast areaclean roomsnice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 804 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location of the Hampton is very convenient to downtown, the University of Virginia, and Monticello. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was delicious with a great variety of foods. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything you expect from a Hampton Inn. If you are in the Charlottesville area this is the place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DHG309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located smack between the university and the pedestrian mall area (about 10min walk either way) this is a great location when visiting Charlottesville. Room and common areas clean. Friendly service. Hard to find anything healthy on the breakfast buffet. Completely fine stay, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARL2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare, but everything else about this hotel was much nicer than other Hamptons. Because of my Hilton status we were upgraded to a suite and it was huge! Living room, full kitchen with dining area, separate bedroom - if you are visiting a child at UVa, this would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTMomCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is first class. We had a king size bed, nice stuffed chair, good business desk. I have my standard concern - room sleeps 2, seats only 1. But that's standard for the industry. My real complaint is the glasses. Top class hotel, paper cups to drink from. They are advertised as green, but I'd suspect that washable glass would be as green, and more appropriate for the hotel class.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

During a recent trip to Charlottesville, my husband and I stayed here and we were really delighted with every aspect of our stay. The hotel is situated perfectly between the downtown area and UVA. Perfect walking distance to both, with plenty of options for food and shopping along the way. Our room was super spacious and cozy, and very clean.
Also, all of the employees we encountered, from the front desk to housekeeping, were very friendly, warm, and inviting. These folks either take customer service very seriously, or they're just super happy, pleasant people! Either way, they know how to make guests feel welcome. :)

We will definitely stay here if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sardawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews