We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery AL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, very helpful staff”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a vacation trip to visit mainly Monticello.
I was pleasantly surprised by the willingness if the staff here to help guests find directions, places to eat, etc etc.
Only downside was finding the hotel, hard to say if that is a GPS issue, or if it is genuinely hard to find.
Hotel is very clean, very friendly and, as it turned out, very convenient. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LogicTransformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    207
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
299
181
51
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I traveled here with my 14 year old son's soccer team. The staff were very accommodating, friendly & professional. Could not ask for better service, or cleaner rooms. We are planning on using the Hampton Inn & Suites in Cville everytime we're in town :) .

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to reduce noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Comfortable, clean, convenient. Within walking distance of many venues/sights. Friendly, helpful staff. Fridge & microwave in each room. Free WiFi. Free parking in a location where parking is premium.All around great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA., United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at the Hampton Inn at the University in Charlottesville , Virginia. I think the staff is great and they work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A nice hotel with a very courteous and knowledgeable staff. A good location within minutes of the downtown area and the University and the Hospital.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good location, clean and fresh rooms........comfy beds and fresh generous linen. Good quality toiletries, excellent choices for breakfast, friendly staff. Microwave and fridge in the rooms that actually work ! Loved it........oh and the artwork was nice too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Zeenat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Hampton Inn is top-notch. It was a great location for our overnight in Charlottesville while visiting Monticello, which was only a couple of miles away.

Spotlessly clean hotel & rooms. Nice & quiet, good location. Easy check-in and check-out. Close to a great restaurant on W. Main St., called Bella's(you can walk there and should eat there!)

Highly recommended to stay at for travelers in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvcivilwarstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Charlottesville seems to have a dearth of nice hotels. I chose this hotel based on the Hampton Inn affiliation. The hotel itself is conveniently located on the "main drag" into town and near the University. It is not the nicest nor the worse looking place I have stayed in. There is a take out gyro type place across the street. Other restaurants are within walking distance up near the University if you don't mind steering around construction and scaffolding on several of the buildings along this street. There is a van service that is offered but I think it mostly transfers guests to and from the airport.

Immediately next door to this Hampton Inn, a high-rise is being constructed. You will be awakened - early - by the construction noise.

The rooms are average in appearance. While I did not think the room was dirty, the hallways and our room and bath looked a bit tired. The breakfast buffet was good. The front desk is phone busy and one of the clerks with whom we spoke was curt and seemingly annoyed by our presence in interrupting something she was doing. Other personnel were pleasant.

The cost was high. $178.69 for a double queen room - particularly with the noisy construction immediately next door. For this reason, I don't think we got a good value. I would probably look for another place that is newer and not on-top of heavy construction and stay here again only by default.

Room Tip: Insist on a room away from the construction and on a high floor to be as far away from the construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,741 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing