We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United States
2 reviews
“Great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The breakfast was more than I expected. We were so close to all the major things to do in the area. The only thing I would have changed was the size of the bed (its a double not a queen) and I wish the pillows were on the firmer side for myself. Other than those small changes, it was a perfect trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Miffawny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    188
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
262
167
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was hot and delicious. Rooms were nice. Overall, I was completely surprised at the luxury feel of this hotel for the price. We will definitely be returning! Proximity to UVA was perfect...walking distance to other area restaurants. Appreciate the extra security the hotel offered keeping doors locked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice conveniently located hotel with nice lobby and complimentary breakfast. I didn't sllep well the first night but that might be because I was trying to figure out the right temperature on the thermostat. I loved how the lobby was laid out so that folks could eat their breakfast there with variety of chairs and tables to choose from. Front desk staff were very pleasant. Check out was effortless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Safe, restful, clean place to stay with great beds. Due to discount for patient's families it was very reasonable for the service and amenities. When it was necessary to extend my stay after checking out they were able to accommodate me in spite of being "full." They take care of their patient's guest. Great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lucille7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I explained earlier in report shuttle driver gave us very bad advice where to eat that ruined our evening. We had to walk 5 blocks in downtown mall and never did find what we were looking for. We told driver we didn't get around very fell and thought we would be droped off in front of a restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel nine years ago and were very pleased to find it is still an excellent place to stay. Hampton inns have a range of quality and this is one of the better ones we have stayed in. We had one of the king suites which had separate rooms for the bedroom and living room. Also the bathroom is outside of the bedroom which makes it accessible from the living room. The suite had a kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave, and two burner cooktop. Everything was clean and well kept. There were two closets and plenty of drawer space for unpacking. A couple of things that would improve the room would be a makeup mirror and more hooks for hanging towels. The one thing that keeps this review from getting a solid 5 rating was the distasteful odor of pinesol in all of the common areas.
The complimentary breakfast on the first morning was pretty good with southwestern omelets as an option. The second morning was so so with bland scrambled eggs. There were also waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit, pastries offered.
This hotel is very convenient to UVA and the downtown Charlotte pedestrian mall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here in 2008 and agan this year while attending UVa reunions - the hotel has only gotten better since the first time. The location is within walking distance to UVa, although construction along Main St made it necessary to cross the street to pass this time. The bedding, room decoration, bathrooms are all fresh, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and varied; coffee always available in the lobby. The lobby is big with lots of seating areas - a bunch of us sat around to the wee hours of the morning visiting - very pleasant. And EVERY staff person at the hotel was welcoming and helpful. Really nice place to stay. I htought the room rate was high but it WAS a big weekend in town, you always have to pay more for such times.

Room Tip: We had one on the first floor just past the reception desk and it was quiet enough, although light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing