We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the university, but not exactly walkable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to the university, but not exactly walkable.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Standard Hampton Inn. But overpriced... guess that's what you pay to be close to University. Parking is a bit of a challenge due to the busy road the hotel is on. Not a huge deal however. Nice staff. Standard Hampton breakfast, limited seating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yahmoncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    199
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
282
173
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The service here is very nice. Prices are quite reasonable. We always enjoy the Hampton Inn breakfast buffets. This property has a nice, comfortable lobby, and the hotel is a close walk to UVa, the UVa medical center and to many properties. One thing: because the hotel is so close to the medical center, you do hear the helicopters overnight. But, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the medical center. Ask for a room with a view of the medical center as the other views are bland. Also, the suites are a very nice size.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaTourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited to celebrate our Birthdays. Upon check-in the Front Desk was very welcoming - assuring everything was perfect. Our King Suite was a typical Hampton set up. Everything perfectly clean and updated. We used the shuttle to take us to dinner - and the driver was prompt / friendly. Our only complaint is the road traffic / ambulance sirens outside the room. At least 3 times during the night we were treated to the noise. Still, we recommend this Hampton when in C'ville,

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WesNTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed while doing a college visit. Hotel is in a great location. Very nice lobby layout, better than most Hampton Inns. Rooms are quite small. Double beds, vs. queens. Loved that they offered a shuttle/van service in the area. Nice after you've driven a long distance. A/C unit was very noisy. Hotels are at a premium in Charlottesville, so they can be pricey for the product.

Room Tip: The hotel's corner rooms actually have an extra window adding natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorgeous hudson valley
Level Contributor
214 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were in town for the weekend and attended a concert at John Paul Jones Arena on the C'Ville campus. The Hampton Inn and Suites is very well maintained and clean! The hotel was sold out and Charlottesville was a busy town for the weekend.
The hotel is located within walking distance of a lot of bars/restaurants. There was a deli that was open 24 hours and we took advantage of it at 1:30am.
The rooms were nothing out of the ordinary, but were comfortable. The breakfast area was different from most. There was a separate room for the food and tables were spread throughout the hotel lobby making a sold-out hotel seem roomy. The lobby was decorated for the Christmas holidays. Nice artwork too.
I thought the hotel might have been within walking distance of the University, but it was too long of a walk for us..could have been roughly a 20 minute walk to the Area. There was an Indian restaurant across from the hotel and it was great!
Hands down, everyone at the hotel was nice and friendly. Maintenance workers stood aside and offered the hotel to us, housekeeping was on top of things. Friends of ours had driven though the night to get to C'Ville and arrived at the hotel around 8am....they were thrilled to be able to check in at that time, and take a nap!.
We look forward to heading back to Charlottesville and the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose to stay here due to its high rating on Tripadvisor, but it is definitely overrated for the price. The room was comfortable but we did have some noise from the train tracks behind the building. Wifi was fast, and the water pressure was fine as well. Location was also very good, close enough to walk to the medical center as well as some nearby restaurants.

Breakfast was definitely subpar, although I do like that Hamptons have 24/7 coffee service. The front desk staff weren't super friendly, but effective enough. Overall, I'd probably choose to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Overpriced for very basic room accommodations. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, but room was clean but like a low budget room. Very little fluff or decor, somewhat disappointing price $169 for this? Obviously, paying a lot for the location, however I've stayed in a lot of Hampton Inns and although this room apparently was handicap access, it was like an empty room, devoid of any style or warmth that you might expect in a lesser priced competitor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine30004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamAGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing