We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Charlottesville!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We have just packed up to leave and can NOT say enough good about this hotel! Cordell is so sweet and was soo very good to my mother! he is such a great loyal employee and overall good man!Very clean rooms and James in housekeeping is excellent with the BEST staff of any hotel Ive ever stayed! so nice and each one went out of the way to be good to us! My mother is elderly and everyone was so nice to her!! The breakfasts are excellent! Hazel who works the breakfast area was wonderful and again so good to my mother! Keith our shuttle driver was always so polite quiet and helped us to the medical center daily! We are professional who were here for training at the UVA medical center not only convenient but could not be treated better! Definitely shows good management and great employees!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravelmomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 777 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Though this hotel was more money than I wanted to spend, but since so many cheaper hotels were booked, I reserved here despite the cost. Everything was great -- the hotel was super-clean, the staff friendly, the room was very spacious and the breakfast was great. After visiting campus, I was glad that the much closer Red Roof Inn was booked. The noise from the bars/restaurants would have kept me up half the night!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom22girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had planned a wonderful getaway for the weekend and needed last minute accomodations. Bad news was there was a college football game in town. We were fortunate to get a room here and boy were we ever happy! A beautiful Hampton (more so than others) in decor and a terrific staff greeted us and took very good care as well. While the area is more for a younger crowd, we had a great time. The breakfast out performed most Hampton Inns as well! Plenty of parking even on gameday. Nice job!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with the fireplace! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had no complaints, except that I was having problems with getting an internet connection. I had tried several times, and called the front desk and the guy said, "We're really busy down here, can you call back?" Like my problem didn't really matter and he didn't care, other customers were more important. I didn't like that and just told him to forget about it. I don't like being blown off like that, no matter how busy they are, that's not my problem. It was rude and made me feel like they didn't care at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for nearly a week for a conference being held downtown. I had my car so the "commute" was about 5 minutes. There is also the free trolley, but be aware it has greatly reduced service on Sundays. The hotel had everything you could need, including a free guest laundry room - much appreciated for a long stay. Ample and free parking. A standard Hampton breakfast (which would benefit from having trays available to cut down on the number of trips needed to carry everything to your table). The location is very handy to the university. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Also close to the train station. I had a suite which was very spacious and had a kitchenette with a full sized fridge, microwave and stove top, dishes, etc. Lots of storage space. Some street noise, but nothing that kept me awake. Comfortable bed and good climate control. Good value for the money.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank LScott52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Seriously, each staff member was so incredibly warm and helpful. I'm generally not a review writer but the great service I received there just compels me to do so. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed and the refrigerator an unexpected bonus that made my colleagues staying at the Marriott envious. The common areas are also attractive and comfortable; the fire a nice treat during a stormy visit. I was in town for a conference being held downtown and I found the 10-15 minute walk easy and enjoyable though the free trolley was an excellent option. Free shuttle service to the airport was also a bonus. I highly recommend this for a stay in Charlottesville.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My son and his wife chose this as the headquarters for guests and wedding party for their Charlottesville wedding. It is located perfectly for walking to the University of Virginia and all the restaurants and pubs at The Corner. The hotel itself is excellently run and I have no complaints. It is not luxury but the next thing to it. There is no restaurant, though, so in the evening if you're hungry you have to call for delivery from nearby fast food or restaurants instead of room service. Only a small point. I would definitely stay there again and choose it next time I am in town.

Room Tip: My son said he thinks my room on the fourth floor was more recently renovated than his room on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,840 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $147 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing