We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under construction but updated vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“under construction but updated vibe”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a nice location; close to University as well as downtown area. In town to do college tour with teenagers. They were re-vamping the front desk and despite its appearance check-in went smoothly. Kids loved the cookies and popcorn in lobby. Breakfast: so-so/typical.

We stayed there using HHilton honors so I can't comment on value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof4Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    205
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
297
178
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alloway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

I stay at a lot of Hamptons and this one is just ok. Clean and quiet room. Breakfast was cold eggs (fake eggs). Home fries. No taste. The hotel must be booked because they told me no upgrades were available (I am a Gold Member). Nice Hotel I would stay in it again but you are paying for the location of being at the University of Virginia.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just returned from a trip with friends to Charlottesville. While there we visited many historical houses and UVA. We decided on the Hampton Inn at the University after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The location was perfect- probably midway between UVA and the Pedestrian mall. They have a wonderful shuttle service that will take and pick you up to the historical sites and the mall. ( probably anywhere within reason but I am sure of these places) The hotel was super friendly in atmosphere with attentive staff that were very helpful. Construction in lobby is almost complete. The room was spacious and very clean. I loved that they wash the quilt bed cover after every occupant. All amenities were available in the bathroom...and lots of towels. Breakfast included many choices, and they have complimentary coffee and popcorn all day. I would definitely stay there again. I wish only that they would improve their pillows.

Room Tip: Our room was larger than the one our friends had...just luck. Ours had a sofa. Ask for a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This Hampton Inn is located on West Main Street, right between UVa and the downtown mall. Both are within reasonable walks, so it is an excellent location for exploring Charlottesville. The hotel itself was clean, reasonably well sound-insulated for a location on a city street. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn -- better than other chain's Continental breakfasts, but not as lavish as Embassy Suites. The staff was friendly and efficient. The only negatives were the following: (1) price -- even off-season, it was fairly expensive, (2) renovation: the hotel was in the middle of renovating the main floor. They did their best to segregate the construction work from the guests, and the hotel will be quite nice once it's completed, (3) the rooms were smaller than some Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milt_Thanatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night when visiting Charlottesville. The hotel was very quiet and everyone was friendly. The location is great since you can walk to the campus (5 min walk) or to the Pedestrian Mall (10 min walk). The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We didn't eat the breakfast, but it looked like there were a lot of choices. There is some construction going on right now, not sure what it is- but I'm sure it's to make a part of the hotel better. I'd definitely stay there next time I visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My father spent a week in the hospital at UVA and the staff at the hotel were wonderful to my family as we stayed in the hotel. The location is perfect and the free shuttle service was really nice. We had to extend our stay and the staff especially,
Perry, were extremely helpful and took care of everything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for six nights November and December. Our room was spacious and our King bed was very comfortable. The food was very good in the morning and a nice treat at night. The Staff was very friendly and always professional. Great place to stay when you have someone in the hospital. Our experience can best be summed up as "First Class".

Room Tip: Close hotel to UVA Hospital, Free shuttle bus to and from the hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
293 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
913 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing