We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My father spent a week in the hospital at UVA and the staff at the hotel were wonderful to my family as we stayed in the hotel. The location is perfect and the free shuttle service was really nice. We had to extend our stay and the staff especially,
Perry, were extremely helpful and took care of everything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    207
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
299
181
51
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for six nights November and December. Our room was spacious and our King bed was very comfortable. The food was very good in the morning and a nice treat at night. The Staff was very friendly and always professional. Great place to stay when you have someone in the hospital. Our experience can best be summed up as "First Class".

Room Tip: Close hotel to UVA Hospital, Free shuttle bus to and from the hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel was nearly perfect for our needs. I have four young boys so we stayed in the double-bed suite. My husband and I shut them off in that room and enjoyed the fireplace and a movie. The room was clean and the kitchen was really nice. The couch wasn't really comfortable for relaxing after a long day, but I guess my expectations were low on that one. Our room was on the second floor and near an intersection, so I did hear some loud traffic noise, but it was a Saturday night. The area is next to the University, so it's not the quietest of areas, but it wasn't too bad. My biggest and only complain really was the breakfast area. It is such a small/crowded space - especially during peak times - which seemed to be when we were there. I was miserable with my young children. They really should expand somehow. There is a casual kabob restaurant right across the street - Ariana - and apparently it's rated well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4boysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here while traveling to New Jersey to spend Thanksgiving with family. We wanted to visit Monetcello as we never had been there. Montecello was cool and the hotel was quite a treat. Not sure why, but upon arrival I was upgraded to a suite. with a separate living area, kitchen and bedroom. I had never stayed in one of the "and suites" at a Hampton Inn before. As is our usual experience with Hampton Inns, the place was quite clean and staff was professional and attentive. Front desk staff provided an excellent suggestion for dinner and the next morning's breakfast was a cut above some other Hamptons. Only minor issue was poor TV reception in the bedroom, but I didn't notice until we were preparing to leave. I informed the staff on check out. They were apologetic and promised to fix before the next guest. The hotel is located between the Old Main area and the UVA campus in downtown Charlottesville within walking distance of both. I would highly recommend the facility and will return.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a busy downtown corner so an upper story might be beneficial. We had no sound problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Nothing else matters if I can't take a hot shower. Got about 7 minutes of lukewarm water before it went cold. I hope this was an isolated incident; however, I would be afraid to return and find out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinainvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Usual good service of Hampton Inns; helpful staff, good location near the hospital, the university and the downtown mall. Gorgeous lobby, very comfortable to wait for others; separate and comfortable computer/business center off the lobby. Only issue was the lock plate on the door; we could see the hall light around the entire door, hear everything in the corridor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hospitality of the staff is outstanding. They are all professionally, neatly dressed, even the maintenance personnel. The staff is always busy cleaning, straightening up, etc. At the breakfast in the morning, the staff is right there, picking up, cleaning tables, making the area always ready for guests. They also have a van which will drive you to a restaurant and pick you back up. The hotel is in a nice location, easy to get in and out of the parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
905 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing