We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton Inn - Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Average Hampton Inn - Nice Stay”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We usually stay at Hampton Inns when we travel, and this was an average experience. It is an older Hampton Inn, but well maintained, and exceptionally clean. Rooms were a little smaller than most, especially bathroom, but cozy and well organized. Beds were clean and very comfortable. A/c was newer, and very quiet - kept room comfortable. We were on the 5th floor, and it was very quiet. We came in at night to find cookies at front desk. In the morning, we had a great breakfast, including hot waffles and selection of standard breakfast fare. All in all, we had a comfortable, average stay. We would stay there again if ever in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    310
    100
    22
    11
See reviews for
341
294
57
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

It's not near the university, or the event locations, but isnt too far away. The beds are plush, the bathrooms adequate, and the rooms are quiet, even after a major concert event... although that might have to do with the folks staying there more than the quality of the walls. I slept very well and awoke rested.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The two guys at the desk were attentive and tried their best to get me to my room with minimum hassle. I appreciate that after a long drive.

I also liked the fact that despite not having a fitness center, they have an agreement with the local Gold's Gym for hotel guests. That's a nice touch.

The room was quiet and had a nice flat screen TV (I'm starting to snobbily look down on rooms that have the old CRT TVs). The bathroom is small, but plenty big enough if you aren't into spreading out all your belongings.

Overall, a nice place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDYguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Pros: Good location. Hot & plentiful breakfast. Very dedicated customer service. Cathy (assistance general / manager) not only picked out a beautiful arrangement of flowers to be delivered to our room, she even made dinner reservations for us (our plans changed due to the weather, and my husband was having a hard time trying to make our anniversary special). He called the hotel while we were out wine tasting; he explained the situation to Cathy. He told her my favorite flowers, the amount he wanted to spend, and my favorite food. Cathy did the rest. I was totally surprised when we returned to our room & found the flowers waiting. She really saved the day, and helped my husband to make me feel special. This is better than any high class hotels we stayed at in the past. I’m still amazed at the high level of customer service provided. Thank you, thank you, thank you Cathy!!!!

Cons: We stayed in room 408, and it was on the smaller side. Not much counter space in the bathroom. AC took a while to cool down room. Weak water pressure, but the hot water was great. No microwave in room, but there’s one in the breakfast area (in the lobby) to use. Very small luggage cart.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again. If everyone provided the same amazing customer service as Cathy, Hampton Inn would give those more expensive hotels a run for their money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelbugs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The hotel was in a good location near all sorts of eatery's and shopping. Lots of fun tourists things to do including tours through Thomas Jefferson & James Monroe house. Under 30 minutes to Shenandoah National Park which was simply breath-taking. Staff was helpful in getting me to the places that I wanted to see. If you are going to explore the area as I did, make sure you have hand written directions and a map since my GPS didn't work so well up in those mountains. Room was clean and the bathrooms looked very new. Internet was good and easy to access. TV reception was good. Enjoyed my stay! Thank you Hampton Inn Charlottesville!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorryFreePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stay at this hotel once a month when I travel to Charlottesville for a business meeting and highly recommend it! It's truly like "home away from home" for me and it's very convenient. There are numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance and it's only 2 or 3 miles from the historic downtown district. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are excellent. Very comfortable and clean!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

In the past 50 days, I have spent 20 nights at 9 different hotels. Most of these have similar features (Comfort Suites, Holiday Inn Express, etc.) as the Hampton Inn and Suites.
Pros: The hotel is located on a main route, yet is off of a side road giving it a more quiet external environment. As other reviewers have noted, easy walking distance to a major shopping area and grocery store. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price was good. Rates go up on the weekends. Hotel was very quiet even though there were several youth baseball teams staying there for a local tournament. As we were at the half way point in our trip, the staff helped us find a laundry mat in the area.
Cons: After staying in so many hotels, I grew picky about bathrooms and counter space. I found the bathroom to be dinky. Not a huge complaint, but I need space to spread out.
Not really a con, but a comment. The hotel has a shuttle that they will only allow to be used for the hospital and airport. I heard several guests ask about shuttle service to Monticello. If you do not have a car, you will have to take a taxi up to Monticello. If you do so, arrange for taxi service to take you down as cell phone reception is limited on the mountain. We took a couple who were stranded back to their hotel near the U of VA. I saw the shuttle sitting there most of the time, so from a customer service perspective, the hotel may want to include Monticello as a shuttle destination (for a small fee).
Overall, we had a very good stay and enjoyed our visit to Charlottesville, VA............

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
863 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing