We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for 1 year anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great stay for 1 year anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

My wive and I stayed one night at the Hampton Inn for our 1 year anniversary.

The hotel staff caught on without me directly saying that it was our anniversary and had sparkling cider and chocolate covered strawberries ready for us when we arrived.

The room we had was a king bed non smoking room that was amazing. Our room was great as we were able to pull the shades and make it dark so that we could sleep in on Sunday morning.

The staff also set us up for a late check out with out asking us, and my wife just thought that was awesome.

The hotel is right outside of downtown and next to the mall which we liked.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    299
    94
    16
    11
See reviews for
316
277
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We were in town for a tour of the University of Virginia, and the location was perfect for our purpose. It gave us the opportunity to see the surrounding area and still be near our destination.

We had reserved a room with 2 queen-sized beds for one night. When we arrived, the room was a few degrees too cold, but we adjusted that. Although the room was smaller than what I am used to with other hotels, the beds were amazing! They were far more comfortable than even my own bed at home, and I had to be pulled out of bed the next morning. We enjoyed the free breakfast, which included cheese omelets, ham, biscuits, muffins and bagels, and assorted breakfast pastries. The apple juice was excellent, and my other family members liked the orange juice.

Overall: The rooms were small but made up for with cleanliness and excellent beds. The breakfast was better than most, and had a decent spread.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaNightOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here over the Independence Day weekend. Virginia has these weird U-turns on the highway, so it may be a challenge to get into the hotel from Rt 29 south.

Check in was quick and friendly; we arrived about 1 1/2 hours before check in and our room was ready. We had a king room with a small sofa. The room was spotlessly clean, and didn't have that "hotel" smell! The bathroom was clean and had great lighting.

The small fridge in the room is a plus.

If I have any complaints, it's that there are no "drawers" in the room in which to put your clothes. Only one small drawer in the TV stand, and the tiny drawers in the nightstands. The closet is also rather odd, configured like an armoir.

The breakfast was decent, but the breakfast area is small and you have to be a quite agile to get between the tables!

The hotel was quiet, in spite of the fact that there was a college baseball team staying there (lots of young men, parents, etc).

And....you could see the fireworks from our room window!

Oh, and the pool IS NOT heated! Brrr, even in July with the sun shining!

The Seminole Square Shopping Center is within walking distance, and there are a couple restaurants within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyfankathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISVILLE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We spent one night at this hotel on our way home from a long trip - mainly to see Monticello. The hotel is convenient to the interstate - but off on a side street. There is a great antique place in the shopping center nearby. Check in was very fast and the staff was the friendliest of all that we met during our vacation. On arrival we were offered fresh cookies - which is important if you have kids. Breakfast could have had a little more variety, but for this type hotel it was OK. The room was comfortable with good beds and the bathroom was roomy. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyLucky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

My family and I stayed here 2 nights, it was very comfortable, the beds are great we all had a good nights sleep. The staff were great friendly and knowledgeable about the area and shop opening times etc. It had a good brekfast selection and free tea/coffee and chocolate at any time.The negatives about this hotel are small but worth mentioning. The hotel is old (but very clean) so is looking a bit tired, the rooms are not that big, there is 3 in our party and we had a lot of bags so not a lot of space in the room after the bags are in. The bathroom is small and has a coffee maker in it which limits the space you have there to. Saying all this I would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

For my parents' 60th Wedding Anniversary my siblings and I wanted to do something special for them. We took them to Monticello and Washington D.C.. For the "leg" at Monticello, we stayed at the Hampton Inn, Charlottesville. When booking the room MYRA was fantastic, patient and interested in seeing that I got what my family needed.
When we arrived, Myra remembered me by name and the reason why we were coming. The staff also purchased a flower arrangement for my parents. My family's room ajoined by parents' room, with a doorway between the two rooms. A nice touch! The rooms were typical Hampton, comfortable and adequate to our needs. The "free" breakfast was warm and filling. When you have a teenage boy and a growing adolescent boy, this is especially helpful. The location is near many fine family restaurants and close to many historic sights. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Only two drawbacks: no on=sight workout facility (though Gold's Gym is very close, and it had an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPDAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wililamsburg, va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

I was recently at the Hampton Inn in Charlottesville. I got hungry about 11pm, and went down to the front to see if there was some fruit. The gentleman at the front desk asked if he could help me. I explained that I was hungry but too tired to the leave the hotel. "No problem!" he said, "Let's get you something to eat."

He proceeded to open up the breakfast closet and get me some cereal, breakfast bar, banana, apple, and insisted on my taking a bottle of water. It was such a wonderful treat to find such kind, personal treatment at a "chain" hotel. I got much better treatment at the Hampton Inn that I got at a Bed & Breakfast I stayed in later in the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wsburgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing